RSS Feed

Road Trip Part One – Yellowstone I

Posted on

Summer in our family means it’s time to pack up our things and cram into the family car and head out on a great adventure. In the past, we’ve gone to National Parks, National Monuments, a great meteor crater, cute small towns, big cities, and many places in between. This year, my husband booked a trip he’d wanted to make for a LONG time, which included most of the above listed destinations.

Stop 1: Salt Lake City.

IMG_5598IMG_5587

I can’t say too much about the place, as we were only there one night. It was clean, pretty, and pretty windy. Sadly, we didn’t see the actual Great Salt Lake. Hopefully we can make it back again someday in the future.

Stop 2: Yellowstone National Park, Old Faithful Inn

Our first stop in Yellowstone was at the Old Faithful Inn. My husband and I have wanted to visit Yellowstone for several years. Last year we weren’t able to go on a big trip, so he took matters into his own hands and booked our trip a year in advance. He didn’t ask advice from anyone we knew, but just tried to figure out what to see based on reading a book and searching the net. He did a pretty darn good job.

IMG_5750

The entrance

IMG_5666

Old Faithful

IMG_5674

The giant clock on the giant mantle in the lobby

IMG_5677

These people I love, exploring the hotel walkways.

IMG_5676

lobby, from above

Old Faithful is just outside the inn. Just beyond Old Faithful are a few walkways to explore several geysers. I have to say that there are signs EVERYWHERE telling visitors to stay on the path for their own safety.

IMG_9134

The paths keep you safe from wandering into a dangerous hotspot.

IMG_9135

Castle Geyser. When geysers aren’t active, they are always emitting some gas and steam.

IMG_9152

We walked up to this geyser JUST as it was going off.

IMG_9204

The Grotto Geyser went off in waves, like the ocean. (Where’s Ariel?)

IMG_9237

Just starting

IMG_9255

Girls taking a break by the river

I’m going to make a confession right now. I thought that Yellowstone was JUST GEYSERS. And, of course, a National Park that would be pretty and have trees and trails and whatnot. My husband did his research. I did not. I was treading water all year trying to survive my first year back to work and let him take care of the trip planning, so I didn’t do my research.

Imagine my surprise when we headed to a basin filled with one the most beautiful sites I’ve ever seen.

IMG_9301

Walking by the river on the way to the Midway Geyser Basin

IMG_9302

I was always fascinated by the tiny flowers thriving among the treacherous landscape.

IMG_9310

Unreal

IMG_9314

Reading the no swimming sign and discussing the landscape

IMG_9322

Hot springs. The lighter blue the water, the hotter it is.

IMG_9324

Beautiful but deadly

IMG_9336

A waitress in Salt Lake City told us she’d never seen so many colors as in Yellowstone. Now I know what she meant.

IMG_9347

My favorite of all, which isn’t done justice by my photograph. The Grand Prismatic Spring. Just amazing.

Click HERE to see a breathtaking overhead view of the Spring, from Getty Images.

We bought me a pair of earrings and necklace that were inspired by the Grand Prismatic Spring.

IMG_6985

 

IMG_9352

An example of the boardwalks everywhere to keep everyone away from danger

IMG_9362

Bubbling in the water

IMG_9395

On the left, you can see where some runoff from a spring is making a little waterfall, altering the ground around it and heading into the river.

The next day we drove to the Lake. We saw more geysers and springs right on the lake, stopped to get a closer look at the lake, and had dinner right on the lake.

IMG_5770

pools next to the lake

IMG_9415

Beautiful but deadly, part 2

IMG_9696

Touching the lake

IMG_9752

boy on a log

IMG_9789

Enter a caption

IMG_9769

taking in the beauty

IMG_6011

3 kids in front of the giant fireplace

IMG_6012

the lounge of the Lake Hotel

IMG_6013

beautiful view

 

IMG_5813

That night, when we got to our lodge, we took a silly picture. 🙂

Since there are so may photos and I want people interested in Yellowstone to be able to see as many as possible, I’m splitting up the blogs into pieces. Stay tuned.

~Genevieve

Leave a Reply

