RSS Feed

Help us Blast Off to Astrocamp!

Help us Blast Off to Astrocamp!

Every year, my daughter’s school goes to Astrocamp. If you are a regular reader of my blog, you may remember that I’ve helped organize all the trips my own children have gone on.

The first year we went at their school was the year my son went. Two years later, my middle child went. Finally, my youngest child went earlier this school year.

When I got hired at the school where I teach, I let my principal know I needed those three days off for the trip. When she heard me talk about Astrocamp, she got very excited about the prospect of taking our own 5th graders on the same trip.

Our 5th graders have been through a lot. In 4th grade, half the class had no stability and had substitute teacher after substitute teacher all year. The other half had a teacher who was burned out and had no patience for their behavior issues. And while I get frustrated on a daily basis with how hard it is for so many of them to focus and be present, the truth is that the majority of these kids have seen more trauma in their short lives than anyone should have to go through.

Going on a field trip like this would be amazing for them.

We’ve paid for our deposit for the trip, but we have a lot more to raise. $5000, actually. We’re trying to set up small fundraisers at the school, including the parents selling popcorn after school on Fridays, but it won’t be enough.

I’ve set up a Donors Choose page to help raise funds. You’ll notice that it isn’t for the full amount, because this is my first project and I’m asking more than I’m technically allowed (if I had more “points” I could ask for more money).

If you can help in any way, or know anyone else who can help, please forward  THIS LINK to them. If you donate by March 6th and use the code LIFTOFF, we can get double your donation!

Thank you so much for your help and support. This will be such an amazing experience for these students!

~Genevieve

Leave a Reply

