RSS Feed

Thanksgiving and Finding Old Recipes

Yesterday was Thanksgiving and we had a great time with my family. We always have good food and good conversation.

IMG_0119

As I was peeling potatoes, my older daughter asked if she could help. 🙂

IMG_0135

My brother & my husband deep in conversation

IMG_0152

Everyone at the table (but me, taking the photo)IMG_0158

Since the women did the cooking, the men did the dishes. (Yes, I know, we were very old school.)IMG_0194

Some photos from my youngest child’s perspectiveIMG_0195IMG_0208

Double thumb war!

My mom showed me a cookbook that belonged to my great-grandmother. She bought it in 1924 and someone in my mom’s family rebound it, as it was falling apart. I love that it’s really well-worn, complete with coffee stains.

IMG_0161

I’m guessing my great-grandma used this page a lot – I can see her putting her coffee cup down on the one side to keep the book from closing. 🙂IMG_0165

This Mystery Cake recipe is interesting to me. I’m wondering why it’s called mystery cake. So many of these recipes have no actual measurements (this one actually does) and often there’s no specificity with temperature of the oven and baking time. This one says “bake in a moderate oven” which perhaps is the mystery.

IMG_0180

I’m surprised to see that they were discussing calories back in the 1920s! I guess some things never change.

IMG_0169

This page seems to be very well-worn as well. I’m so curious about the “Butter Gebackenes” – something I’ve never heard of that sounds perhaps German. What I’m most curious about is the “XXXX sugar” and the “two knifepoint of hartshorn” (both about what on earth hartshorn is and how on earth you’d add “two knifepoints”). It also says to “bake” but gives no indication of the temperature, the time, or what to look for when it’s done (i.e.- when a toothpick comes out clean). I’m wondering if bakers were more intuitive back then, or if we are too busy these days to sit and watch an oven so we need very specific directions (or if we are just dumber).

Either way, I’m so curious about some of these recipes! I think I’m going to attempt to make one “old” recipe a week and maybe blogging about the results. Would you as my reader be interested in this? I’ve also got a cookbook from the 1960s that’s got some really interesting recipes in it. 🙂

Well, I hope everyone is having a great week and my fellow Americans had a great Thanksgiving. I’d love to hear from people about their own OLD recipes.

In the meantime, here’s my daughter with one of my favorite cake recipes. She turned my cake into a turkey with her creativity.

IMG_0131

 

Leave a Reply

