RSS Feed

Back to School for All of Us

This week was back to school for my three kids. It was also back to teaching for me. For my husband, it is a new role of picking up the kids and making lunches and breakfasts every day, since I need to be out of the house before everyone else.

This summer I applied for a job at our district, after subbing for two years. For weeks I was in contact with the district about how procedures work. I was to turn in my resume, my letters of recommendation, my intro letter, my transcripts, and proof that I’m a teacher, basically, all online. Then I was to leave it up to the hiring gods for a principal to see my information and hopefully call me.

I was told over and over that it wasn’t protocol to contact the principals, so I didn’t. Until the very end, when I contacted one that had the most openings. I still didn’t hear anything.

With one week left till school starts, I came to the realization that I was not going to be hired. It was simply too late in the scheme of things for me to get a job. So I changed my mindset. I would sign up to sub at as many places as possible and hope to get known enough in the district that I would be able to get hired for NEXT year.

IMG_4348

On our last Friday before school started on Tuesday, I took the kids to lunch, swimming, and yogurt. At about 3pm on that day, as I was pulling up to the Menchie’s in Burbank, I got a call from a principal to come for an interview.

I came home, showered, and headed to my interview.

The next day, I realized I had a lot of shopping to do. I needed to get supplies from the teacher store, and buy some new clothes for my new job. I was both excited and terrified of what was in store for me.

On Monday, that was my one day to get into the classroom and set up.

IMG_4406

The classroom when I walked in.

I had a blank slate. And even after I’d bought several things to put up, it was still really bare.

IMG_4420

I was starting to feel good about my classroom and how it was shaping up until I walked into the 14-year-veteran teacher’s class that was FILLED with bookshelves and books and color and life. It will take me a LONG time for my classroom to look like that.

On Tuesday morning, we all got ready to go. My kids were up and ready early so we could all spend some time together before rushing out the door.

3 kids, 3 schools - high school, middle school, and elementary school

3 kids, 3 schools – high school, middle school, and elementary school

Then Dad let me in on it, too.

All 4 of us ready for the first day.

All 4 of us ready for the first day. (I like that you can see Dad in the window.)

After school that first day I had an appointment for the youngest and a class for the middle. One thing that helped us that day (and helped us get off our feet the first week) was my amazing parents coming up and having meals for us all for the entire week! (And they helped clean up and do some laundry, too!)

It’s been a real shift in our family for me to be back at work full-time. My school is on the same schedule as my youngest, but I stay a bit later to get things done, so my husband leaves work to pick them up and then heads back when I get home. I get to take the big guy to high school on my way, which is nice – just the two of us. We’re all getting used to the changes and after the first week, I think we’re all settling in.

IMG_4482

We ended the week with ice cream, delicious chili made by my own Mom, and Star Trek. (Mommy may or may not have fallen asleep during the show and may or may not have gone to bed RIGHT after the kids.)

This year has many changes and challenges and adventures ahead. I hope we have more happy than sad and more highs than lows, and I wish the same to all of you.

Cheers!

~Genevieve

Leave a Reply

