RSS Feed

Driving Around L.A.

Posted on

So, my kids took an improv camp this week. The theater is only 20 miles away, but we are talking about Los Angeles, so it’s not an easy hop over to Hollywood.

According to Google Maps, it takes 30 minutes with no traffic. Who’s kidding who? We needed to be there at 9am, so we’d definitely hit traffic.

Monday we headed out and I followed the directions given to me by my car’s GPS. Hahahahahahahahaha. That was a terrible idea. It told me to take the 2 freeway. It was packed, and then merging off the freeway was worse.

We sat on this freeway for a very long time. And an even longer amount of time to merge off the freeway when it ended.

We sat on this freeway for a very long time. And an even longer amount of time to merge off the freeway when it ended.

On the return trip home, I took a different route.

Up Highland toward the Bowl.

Up Highland toward the Bowl.

When I came back to get them 4 hours later, I tried getting off on Los Feliz from the 5. One of the highlights? This apartment building, with my husband’s name on it.

The kids pointed out the name of this cool old apartment building.

The kids pointed out the name of this cool old apartment building.

That was a pretty good way to get there, but I was still going to try a few different routes. One route took me past Paramount Studios.

Paramount Studios

Paramount Studios

One day I got off on Forest Lawn, down Barham, to Highland. Not a terrible way to go, unless they’re doing construction, which they were. 😦

I avoided freeway traffic when I could, by driving parallel to them.

I avoided freeway traffic when I could, by driving parallel to them.

Certain parts of Hollywood brought us by movie theaters.

Giant Minions!

Giant Minions!

IMG_3689

Another studio… Warner Brothers

Sometimes we were entertained by simply reading signs – like this restaurant.

My son's comment, "We'll get you loaded" (get it?)

My son’s comment, “We’ll get you loaded” (get it?)

This sign has me intrigued.

This sign has me intrigued.

Sign on top of the El Capitan Theater, where we've seen Disney movies.

Sign on top of the El Capitan Theater, where we’ve seen Disney movies.

In the neighborhood near the theater we found a few gems.

Discoland? I'm there!!

Discoland? I’m there!!

I'm not sure what this is, but it makes me want a popsicle.

I’m not sure what this is, but it makes me want a popsicle.

*I looked them up. They are neither chubby, nor kids. Discuss.

Just a few doors over from the theater... Flash Film Works. I wonder...

Just a few doors over from the theater… Flash Film Works. I wonder…

Being HUGE Flash fans, this was cool. I have to wonder if the chubby kids put the bricks in that building.

1926

1926

Explanation. I’m fascinated by contractor stamps on sidewalks. I love seeing how old neighborhoods are. My neighborhood is stamped from 1947 – 1949. The one just north of us is 1952 and beyond. Seeing that this neighborhood is more than 20 years older than our own is pretty cool. This will most likely NOT be the last time you see me post one of these.

The kids had so much fun!!

The kids had so much fun!!

IMG_3756

Five days. Ten trips there and back. 15 hours in the car. Several different routes. 5 studios, 2 cemeteries, several movie theaters, 1 historic venue, a big park, several neighborhoods, 5 freeways, and three happy kids. I certainly know my way around Hollywood/LA now, and will have no problem finding my way.

Thanks, Comedy Sportz! We’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

