RSS Feed

I Hope You Had The Time Of Your Life

Posted on

Another school year has come to a close, and the biggest milestone yet was reached by my oldest. My son graduated (or as they call it now “promoted”) from middle school. He’s on to bigger things, like the big giant high school down the street with big giant kids. *deep breath*

It seems like yesterday he started kindergarten and looked like this

1stdayseany

That was 9 years ago. Unbelievable.

I find each end-of-the-year to be ridiculously packed and crazy – filled with last minute field trips, celebrations, teacher gifts, and events. For the last several years I feel like a crazy person during the last few weeks of school. This year was no exception.

Honestly, I feel like the entire last month was insane.

First, the girls had their musical theater performances the first weekend in May.

IMG_8903

I chaperoned the 8th grade field trip to Catalina for 3 days.

At a beautiful spot on our first hike in Catalina.

At a beautiful spot on our first hike in Catalina.

I subbed a few times, though not too much to be crazy.

I went on a field trip with the 6th graders and then the 4th graders the following day.

6th grade trip to the Science Center

6th grade trip to the Science Center

4th grade trip to the Huntington Gardens

4th grade trip to the Huntington Gardens

The 8th graders had their Cardboard boat Regatta and the Family Picnic the same night. This is when I needed to have the 8th grade slideshow finished – at least one version – to show the kids.

My son and his group - The Gentlemen. They won first place for best use of cardboard.

My son and his group – The Gentlemen. They won first place for best use of cardboard.

I had a dentist appointment, a hair appointment, and a dermatologist appointment. I am still coordinating the big 5th grade trip for this September.

I had a walk-through for our 8th grade promotion to see what we needed and make sure the slideshow would work and the decorations and the configuration of the stage.

We saw some art made by some friends of ours.

We went to a local art gallery to see some friends' art pieces.

We went to a local art gallery to see some friends’ art pieces.

Last Sunday was a party for the cast of the musical, and then I went to a PTA party.

IMG_2785

My youngest doing a “routine” with her friend while the rest of the girls looked on.

I never get awards, so I am proud of this one. I got it for all the work I do up at the schools. :)

I never get awards, so I am proud of this one. I got it for all the work I do up at the schools. 🙂

Then, starting with Monday, I had to make cupcakes for my middle child’s birthday on Tuesday. I frosted them Tuesday morning and brought them to the 6th grade picnic. She came home that day feeling bad, so her birthday was a bummer. She stayed home from school the next day even though she had parties, because she had a fever — this is the same day as my son’s promotion from 8th grade. That same day was the 4th grader’s party (thankfully I didn’t sign up for anything!)

Poor birthday girl feeling awful on her 12th birthday.

Poor birthday girl feeling awful on her 12th birthday.

Wednesday night was the promotion/graduation. I had to get there early to help set up and make sure the slideshow projector and sound worked. Luckily my parents were able to get my daughter feeling well enough to make the first half of the ceremony. Oh yeah, bees attacked the 8th graders while they waited to process into the auditorium.

The slideshow was successful, I think. It’s hard to tell. I don’t think people watching it realize how many hours I put into it making sure every. single. kid. gets into it (even the ones who apparently didn’t graduate?)… but oh well. I felt good about it and now it’s over. Hurray!

The boy, ready to graduate

The boy, ready to graduate

My son, hugging his science teacher.

My son, hugging his science teacher.

Thursday was the last day of school for everyone where I finally had time to grab teacher gifts (and fudgsicles for the 4th grade Field Day which was cancelled due to – are you ready for this – rain). Then I ran around to all the teachers at the middle school and the secretaries at the elementary school and got called out on the loudspeaker for being parked in the pick-up zone. 😛

Thursday afternoon we all collapsed.

Add to that, we’ve been looking for a house.

I’m hoping that this summer is a lot of fun and relaxation for everyone.

~Genevieve

ps -The first song I used in the slideshow was “Good Riddance” by Green Day, where they say “I hope you had the time of your life.” My junior high years weren’t my favorite, but I sure hope that my son had a blast. All the kids. I hope they all had the time of their lives from kindergarten through middle school and as they head to high school and beyond, I hope they remember it fondly.

Leave a Reply

