RSS Feed

Is There Such Thing As The Perfect House?

Posted on

When I was a kid, I had a Barbie. (Truth be told, I had several Barbies, Ken, and Skipper.) Barbie had a DREAM HOUSE. Ever since I was a child, I’d been hearing the term “dream house,” but never before did I feel like I SAW my own Dream House until last week. Watching your dream house slip through your fingers is a big giant bummer – I’ll tell you that right now!

I never thought about a perfect house before. I mean, honestly? What would that look like? My parents built their own house – plans drawn up by my father – and that was as close to a dream house of theirs as they could get. It was a big Tudor home on a hill – and because it had stones and our powder room was almost a small turret, we liked to call our house “the castle.” In the past, I think children usually have more than their parents do – but in my case, I don’t know that I will ever live in a house as big as what I grew up in.

A horribly embarrassing photo of me, but you can see the house in the background.

A horribly embarrassing photo of me, but you can see the house in the background.

When my husband and I got married, we rented an apartment for a few years, and didn’t buy our first house until we’d already had our first child and had been married for almost 4 years. It was a very small house – 2 bedrooms, 1 bath – but had a nice yard. For a first house, it was perfect. Until the toys started taking over the whole house. Until I got pregnant with our second child and we realized we were running out of room. So, just a few weeks after giving birth to our daughter, we put our house on the market. We learned quickly that to get a house bigger than we had, we had to pay a lot more money than we thought we would. The homes that our realtor showed us were some of the worst, scariest, weirdest houses I’ve ever seen. One smelled entirely like pee. It was depressing.

Me (and Sean) watering the plants at our first house.

Me (and Sean) watering the plants at our first house.

Then we found our house. It had fallen out of escrow. Twice. That’s how we managed to get this house. It needed some updates and some care, but it was almost twice as big.

Our current house, after we redid the siding and put new windows in the room on the corner.

Our current house, after we redid the siding and put new windows in the room on the corner.

We’ve lived here for 11 years. My husband has redone the family room, the living room, and my son’s room. We redid the backyard, ripped out the carpet, and had the hardwood floors refinished. We replaced windows and doors in several rooms. We redid the front yard. We redid the bathroom and laundry room.

What our front yard looks like now.

What our front yard looks like now.

Our "old" living room.

Our “old” living room.

Our "new" living room.

Our “new” living room.

Our house is great. We love our house. The backyard is nice. The living spaces are nice. Our second bathroom is beautiful. However, the girls share a room. Our kitchen is in DIRE need of an update. Our bedroom is small. Our first bathroom is awful.

We decided to try to add on to our house to get us a master suite, and give the girls their own room, update the kitchen, and gain an office. We had firmly decided this was the best way to go.

Until I saw this house.

IMG_1430

Well, sometimes it’s best to NOT know what you’re missing. It’s not perfect, but darn it’s close! And just out of reach. So, for now, we stay, and maybe move forward with those plans to expand.

Do you have a dream house? Do you live in your dream house? Is there really such thing as a perfect house?

 

 

Leave a Reply

