RSS Feed

A Trip Full of Firsts at Disneyland

Today is my 45th birthday. I’ve lived in Southern California my whole life. That’s a lot of visits to Disneyland – at least 30, if not close to 40. And yet somehow this year I managed to do more than 15 things I’ve NEVER done before, which seems a little crazy.

IMG_8753

The first first is deciding to stay overnight and spend 2 days in the parks.

I don’t have a photo, but we took the Monorail right from the hotel and straight into the park, bypassing the front gate. That was a first, and it was awesome!

IMG_8767

This is where the Monorail lets you off in Disneyland.

Bought my first pin. I didn't buy a lanyard, but I did buy a pin. :)

Bought my first pin. I didn’t buy a lanyard, but I did buy a pin. 🙂

IMG_8817

First ride on the canoes!

On a whim, we decided to go on the canoes. In all our years, neither my husband nor I had ever gone on the canoes. I’m SO glad we did. It was truly a highlight of the trip. Not because it was an amazing ride, but because I haven’t laughed that hard in a while. Our guide was hilarious, the scenery was beautiful, and it was frustrating to row and try not to hit someone else’s oar, but it was seriously so much fun!

IMG_8824

A snapshot from the canoes

First time on Midway Mania - our scores. (not very good, but fun)

First time on Midway Mania – our scores. (not very good, but fun)

First time truly walking all around California Adventure

First time truly walking all around California Adventure

IMG_8902

First time on the Zephyr at CAlifornia adventure. This is the view from my seat.

IMG_8903

First time eating at one of the hotel restaurants.

First time staying at the Disneyland Hotel

First time staying at the Disneyland Hotel

First time using "Magic Morning" and getting in early - loved this!

First time using “Extra Magic Hour” and getting in early – loved this!

First time on Radiator Springs Racers

First time on Radiator Springs Racers – usually this ride has a 90 minute wait.

Sean and I were a little nervous about the racers, but it was fun!

Sean and I were a little nervous about the racers, but it was fun!

First time eating at the River Belle Terrace (at least that I remember).

First time eating at the River Belle Terrace (at least that I remember).

Could this really be our first Dole Whip?!?!

Could this really be our first Dole Whip?!?!

FIrst time for the family being in line for a ride when it's experiencing technical difficulties (Peter Pan). We waited it out and were rewarded with a the first Peter Pan ride in years.

FIrst time for the family being in line for a ride when it’s experiencing technical difficulties (Peter Pan). We waited it out and were rewarded with a the first Peter Pan ride in years.

First time on the Astro Orbiters (I'd been on the old school rockets, but not these).

First time on the Astro Orbiters (I’d been on the old school rockets, but not these).

A bonus first was getting to 20k steps on fitbit. :)

A bonus first was getting to 20k steps on fitbit. 🙂

We had a few more firsts, including taking the kids on Big Thunder Mountain, and asking for the first row on Soarin’ Over California (I didn’t want to have feet in my way again) – totally worth being on top!

We had such a great time! We saw more things than we have in years, and made so many memories with the kids! Here are a few photos that aren’t included in our firsts:

IMG_8918

I love this sign at the entrance of DIsneyland.

IMG_8813

There were Olaf caramel apples in Pooh Corner.

IMG_8839

The boys in their matching shirts in line for Alice in Wonderland.

IMG_8837

The girls with Mr. Toad (remember they were in the musical “Toad!” this spring).

IMG_8843

The view from the teacups.

IMG_8867

Gracie first, then Sean, then Mads & Dad on Autopia.

IMG_8890

My favorite Prince Charming’s outfit from Once Upon A Time.

IMG_8829

Haunted Mansion decked out for the holidays

IMG_8835

It was the Unofficial Harry Potter day there our first day. I was happenstance-illy wearing my HP sweatshirt (not in photo). I found a woman selling these cool Sorting Hat mouse ears and had to buy one.

IMG_8920

Walt & Mickey

IMG_8909

Whenever we were in a fairly long line, we’d see people playing a guessing game with their ipads and phones. We did our own, sans device. 🙂

IMG_8962

Thanks to the Moustalgia podcast, I noticed the gingerbread house in the Haunted Mansion (and the smell of gingerbread).

I wanted a picture of the kids by the Mickey pumpkin, but we didn’t have time, so I snapped this quickly. 😦  I tried to get one the next day, but it was gone. So sad.

This was the best pumpkin Mickey shot I got, because they were shooing us out.

This was the best pumpkin Mickey shot I got, because they were shooing us out.

I don’t know when we’ll ever get this chance again, but I’m so glad we did it this time. I have a feeling we’ll be talking about this trip for years to come, especially the canoe ride. 🙂

~Genevieve

2 responses »

  1. What a great trip! Thanks for sharing with us! I love River Belle Terrace and love to have breakfast there and sit outside. Happy birthday!!!

  2. Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

