RSS Feed

Is It THAT Time Already?

School, glorious school. It’s already back to school time. It’s AUGUST 18th. Are you serious, school district?!?!

When I was a kid, we didn’t go to school until the day after Labor Day. We got out of school around mid-June. This seemed like a perfect situation – at least when I was a kid.

2 of my brothers and me on the first day of school, circa 1980.

2 of my brothers and me on the first day of school, circa 1980.

Just 5 years ago, my kids were starting school – not just in September, but – mid-September.

Now, we go back in August. My first question is… why? Someone told me that it’s so we stay on the same schedule as colleges. COLLEGES. Really?

The UC system starts September 29th.

Cal State classes start anywhere from 8/19 – 9/25.

Stanford starts end of September.

Harvard starts September 2.

Cal Tech starts September 29.

MIT starts September 3.

So, I’m not totally convinced this is why they’re starting us so early.

Is it so we can go on vacation and hit theme parks before the summer rush?

 

Disneyworld

Disneyworld

Doubtful.

Is it because they want to make sure the kids are in nice air-conditioned classrooms when it’s so hot?

Not likely.

I’m not entirely sure why.

What I am sure of is that true summer isn’t over for another month and change. What I am sure of is it feels wrong to be in school when it’s weeks before labor day and you’re not a year-round school. What I am sure of is it’s harder and harder to be a kid these days, and starting school in the middle of summer isn’t the best way to help that.

The upside is that we haven’t increased our school year by number of days in school. At least in California, the length of the school year has been 180 days since the 60s. I suppose it’s just the early start that bums me out – it’s still summer.

Nevertheless, here are my kids on their first day this week. Fortunately, the first few days have gone really well. They’re all glad to be back with friends and they all like their teachers. Here’s to another year in the books!

IMG_9244

 

 

2 responses »

  1. I heard that the early start gives them more time to prepare for state testing.

  2. Hmm… that could be. (Doesn’t make it any better.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

