RSS Feed

Back to School for Mom

Posted on

A long time ago in a galaxy far away, I was a teacher. (I’m sure I’ve blogged about this before.) When my son was born 13 years ago, I couldn’t find anyone to contract share with, so we decided I’d just stay at home. 13 years, 3 kids, and 2 books later, here I am.

Me, on Halloween, circa 1993 or 1994.

Me, on Halloween, circa 1993 or 1994, with 2 of my kindergarteners and an 8th grade helper.

Apparently I don’t have many photos of me teaching (which makes sense, I suppose), but a lot of my photos from teaching involve me being in some sort of costume.

Singing "Chatanooga Choo Choo" with 2 first graders for our USO show.

Singing “Chatanooga Choo Choo” with 2 first graders for our USO show.

The best costume by far.

Doing the "Kindergarten Conga" with a fellow teacher and all the kids.

Doing the “Kindergarten Conga” with a fellow teacher and all the kids.

The mom who did my pin curls was fantastic.

So now, after all that time, I’m back to school. Last week was my first assignment. I didn’t think I’d get called so soon after my paperwork was finished, but I found myself getting a call at 7:30am to come in for a 4th grade class. I needed to be ready and leave in 5 minutes, so I didn’t have time to make a lunch, and I was a little frazzled. The good news? It was probably the best way to go about it – just get thrown in.

The day was fine. 4th graders who were just up my alley, since I taught 4th grade for a bit. They were good kids. The next day I was called again, and did 3rd grade with a lot of kids I knew. It was kind of a crazy day, but fun.

Tomorrow I’m in 5th grade, and my friend is subbing next door to me. That should be fun. For some reason I’m a little nervous. I think it’s because I’ll have my daughter’s class for part of the day, and the other class is full of kids I know who may or may not give me a hard time. We’ll see. Hopefully they’ll have some mercy on me.

My husband LOVES that I’m “back to work.” He’s been calling me “Working Girl” just like the Melanie Griffith movie of the 80s, but with better hair (I hope).

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 3.14.04 PM

 

(It also makes me sound like a prostitute, but maybe that’s just me.)

So, we’re all adjusting to new schedules, getting out the door sooner, and Mom not being available all the time. We’ll see how it goes. For now, I’m enjoying being back, even if it’s only one day at a time.

 

Have you rejoined the work force after taking time off? What did you learn from it? What was the hardest part? I’d love to hear!

 

~Genevieve

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: How a 2010s Housewife Is Different From A 1950s Housewife | Genevieve, Unraveled

  2. Pingback: What to Expect When You’re a Substitute Teacher | Genevieve, Unraveled

Leave a Reply

