RSS Feed

Astrocamp, the Sequel (or how I conquered the Zipline)

Two years ago, my son’s 5th grade class went to Astrocamp, and I wrote about it HERE.

We had a great time! I knew that when my daughter was 5th grade, I’d probably take part in coordinating and attending as well. This year we went in October, rather than March, which was much warmer. We also had 113 kids compared to 78. 16 chaperones instead of 7, and 4 teachers in stead of 3.

Gracie and the girls, ready for camp!

Gracie and the girls, ready for camp!

The teachers, ready for camp.

The teachers, ready for camp.

We headed up to Astrocamp in several vehicles – 2 buses full of kids, teachers, and a parent or two, then several cars driven by chaperones, filled to the brim with sleeping bags and luggage, as well as food for the kids with severe food allergies. Most of the chaperones arrived before the buses, and I met with the Astrocamp leaders to go over our details and give them our required forms.

They arrive!

They arrive!

Last time I was at camp, I didn’t participate in the outdoor activities for different reasons. I told myself (and the teachers) “I can do it when I come back with my girls.” So, when our group had the zipline on the first day, I knew I had to do it. I volunteered to go first, with another chaperone. He was my partner last time we were here with our older kids. He wasn’t my partner this time, but our groups did activities together a few times.

I volunteered to go first so a) I could take pics of the kids after I was done and b) I was afraid I’d chicken out if I didn’t go first.

The view from the bottom. Deep breath.

The view from the bottom. Deep breath.

Climbing up that rope ladder was a little nerve-wracking, especially when I looked down.

Up at the top with Pete.

Up at the top with Pete.

Evan, the zipline guy, asked me if I’d ever done this before. I said, rather shakily, “No, and I’m a little nervous.” He was very patient. He clipped me to a line attached to the platform and asked me to step up on a little box. Once I did that, he clipped me onto the zipline and unclipped me from the platform.

I heard Pete ask the girl helping him, “Do I jump?” I panicked a little. Sensing that, Evan said to me, “You can just sit. When you feel that it has all your weight, just lift your feet and you’ll go.

I took a deep breath (or three) and sat…

My view from the zipline - Pete still on the platform, my partner Johnny down below.

My view from the zipline – Pete still on the platform, my partner Johnny down below.

I felt REALLY good after it was over. I was REALLY proud of myself and hoped that me doing it might help Gracie do it, too.

We had some of the same activities as last time – like the zipline, Atmosphere and Gases, and the Night Hike and Night Swim. We did a lot of new activities, too. One was rocket building and launching.

 

Rockets, ready to go.

Rockets, ready to go.

 

 

The rocket launching

The rocket launching

There was a Mars Rock climbing class.

Outside the Mars lab

Outside the Mars lab

Climbing

Climbing

There was also a new outdoor activity – the Sky Coaster. As brave as I was for the zipline, I was NOT going to get on the sky coaster.

Step one, get harnessed and hooked up.

Step one, get harnessed and hooked up.

Step 2, dangle.

IMG_9048

Step 3, the rest of the group pulls you up into the trees.

 

 

fly

Step 4, fly

We still had Atmosphere & Gases, which is one of the kids’ favorites, because of stuff like this:

IMG_8983

 

I was lucky enough to sneak over and watch my daughter go on the zipline.

That's my girl!

That’s my girl!

She wasn’t going quite fast enough, so she stopped before the platform and started going backwards.

She had to be retrieved by one of our teachers and one of our chaperones.

They threw a bouy up to her.

They threw a bouy up to her.

then pulled her in

then pulled her in

IMG_9305

Thanks, Paul!

All in all, it was a successful trip. I think most of the kids, if not all, had a really good time, as did the parents.

 

Bye, Astrocamp – see you in two years!!

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Astrocamp – The Final Chapter? | Genevieve, Unraveled

  2. Pingback: Help us Blast Off to Astrocamp! | Genevieve, Unraveled

Leave a Reply

