RSS Feed

I Missed Comic Con

Posted on

I never thought I’d say this, but I was bummed I missed Comic Con this year.

Several years ago, I remember my brother and his friends discussing some comic book convention in San Diego. It didn’t sound fun. It sounded super nerdy and of course I was too cool for that sort of thing.

Then I had kids and a husband who loved Star Wars, and we started doing things I never thought I would do.

Like go to a Star Wars convention.

My middle, trying on a Clone Trooper mask, while my oldest looks on.

My son with some troopers.

Granted, we didn’t dress up, but as you can see, I did wear a SW shirt.

Once we went to that, we thought, “Maybe it would be fun to take the kids to Comic Con.” So, a few years later when they were a little older, we went.

I wrote about it HERE.

It helped that my publishers were promoting my upcoming book, so that was neat.

Peddling

Peddling

The husband and I had a good time. The kids had an okay time, too, but they weren’t big fans of the crowds (which I understand – if I came up to waist level on that many people, I’d feel the same way).

So, the next year the husband and I went without the kids. The kids got a bonus day with Grammy and Grampy and we got to explore a bit more. We didn’t get to see any panels, because our time was limited, but I did get to talk to people who actually wanted my book.

That year I signed books.

That year I signed books.

Since then, we haven’t been able to go. I’ve lived vicariously through friends and others who’ve posted about fandoms I’m a part of – whether it was Twilight, Star Trek, Once Upon A Time, or Vampire Diaries. I also got to see friends who had their own books being sold, or who were there as media.

This year, I would have loved to see Marvel, anything Star Wars, and my new favorite podcast host discussing Star Trek.

But alas, it wasn’t in the cards.

It’s so hard to get tickets if you’re not attending as a vendor or an exhibitor.

So, we’re doing another Con this year – Stan Lee’s Comikaze. We have no idea what it will be like, but hopefully it’ll be fun. Who knows, I might even dress up (it is the day after Halloween after all).

And of course, I’m holding out hope that next year I will be signing books again. Fingers Crossed.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

