RSS Feed

The Grand Canyon, Then and Now – South Rim

Posted on

When I was a kid, I remember watching “Brady Bunch” reruns where the family went to the Grand Canyon, and I thought it was kind of cool… but I was a kid. I thought other things were cooler.

When I was just out of college, we visited, and it was pretty amazing.

My brothers and I, circa 1991.

When my husband and I had kids, we decided to take his grandfather’s advice, as well as follow in my parents’ footsteps, and take the kids on memorable vacations. So, three years ago we went to the Grand Canyon, Zion Canyon, and Bryce Canyon.

Wayne and the kids, circa 2010.

Wayne and the kids, circa 2010.

Since then, we’ve gone to Sequoia, Lassen, Yosemite, Lava Beds National Monument, Ashland, Santa Barbara, and Orlando. This year, I suggested Carlsbad Caverns, because my husband and son LOVE caves. My husband figured why not see the Canyon again. After all, we loved it, and we only spent a day at the North Rim, so maybe we could stay there a few days this time.

Here’s us, today at the South Rim. Notice how much taller the kids are compared to the railing.

They've grown just a bit...

They’ve grown just a bit…hen we were here three years ago,

When we were here three years ago, they were doing construction, which is done now. When we were here three years ago, the girls and I accidentally started down Bright Angel Trail, not realizing we were in the wrong place. When we heard mules coming up behind us, we kind of freaked out and tried to get up the trail as fast as possible. Getting a 4 year old and a 7 year old up the trail quickly was challenging and scary, but we made it up before the mules.

Three years ago, my youngest was four and tired quickly.

I did a lot more carrying last time.

I did a lot more carrying last time.

This time we went on the Bright Angel Trail on purpose.

My littlest happily hiked this time around.

My littlest happily hiked this time around.

Last time we ate breakfast at El Tovar on our way out.

Screen Shot 2013-06-24 at 8.02.59 AM

Eating breakfast in the dining room of the El Tovar – wonderful!

This time around, since we were staying 90 minutes away, we didn’t make it for breakfast, but we had lunch there.

There's something lovely about dining with the Grand Canyon in view.

There’s something lovely about dining with the Grand Canyon in view.

We also took advantage of their patio and had drinks and dessert while looking out over the canyon.

IMG_9508

The Grand Canyon is still magnificent. I’m glad there are still certain things you can’t do, and that for the most part it’s pretty pristine.

We head to the North Rim in two days – I can’t wait! The two Rims couldn’t be more different, and still beautiful!

 

 

3 responses »

  1. That trail looks just like the one the Brady’s rod the mules down! Looks like a great time.

  2. ugh. I meant to type rode, not rod.

  3. Pingback: America, the Beautiful, Southwest Edition | Genevieve, Unraveled

Leave a Reply

