RSS Feed

A Fun, Healthy Way to Fundraise!

Posted on

About three years ago, our school started holding a jog-a-thon to raise money. Thanks to budget cuts and the sad state of the California economy, we are needing to raise more money each year to supplement our arts programs, among other things. A pretty smart lady came up with the idea for a jog-a-thon.

Basically, the kids run around laps that are 1/10 of a mile, for 20 minutes. People can sponsor them per lap or a flat amount. Each grade level goes together. Each class wears one of four colors – red, green, blue, or yellow. My youngest wore red, my middle wore yellow. The oldest is at the middle school and will run next week.

And they're off!

And they’re off!

This year, the teachers and parents got incentive to run laps and raise money. Here’s one of our second grade teachers. He told every person who  sponsored him that they could give him something to wear while he ran. I heard he had a total of 18 things (possibly including a temporary tattoo).

The kids got a kick out of seeing him run in all his accessories.

The kids got a kick out of seeing him run in all his accessories.

My littlest in red.

My littlest in red.

My youngest told me she had a goal of 16 laps.

"Hey, Mom! I reached my goal!"

“Hey, Mom! I reached my goal!”

After the kids were done running and all their laps were tallied, the kids got a cup and an otter pop and went to recess. I headed down to the 4th grade wing to help out in my older daughter’s class.

My girl needed some room, so she went behind the pack.

My girl needed some room, so she went behind the pack.

IMG_8559

A little red-faced after running 2 miles on a warm day.

Overall, the kids got exercise, the parents came to help as a community, and the school raised money. Win, win, win.

 

Leave a Reply

