RSS Feed

What Makes Someone Sexy?

Posted on

Looking back on that high school yearbook, I found more than one entry from a guy I didn’t know very well, saying I was “sexy.” First of all, knowing that I was 17 when I graduated and these guys were writing that makes me feel kind of icky. Second of all, at the time, I don’t think I truly knew what it meant to be sexy. I suppose there are several ways you can define sexy.

Let’s see if we can define it. Wikipedia says “Sexy is an adjective to describe a sexually appealing person or thing.”

In the thesaurus, the synonyms for sexy are “arousing, come-hither, cuddly, flirtatioushot*,inviting, kissable, libidinousmatureprovocative, racy, risqué, seductivesensual,sensuous, slinky, spicy*, steamy, titillating, voluptuous

The free dictionary’s definitions are these:

1. Arousing or tending to arouse sexual desire or interest.
2. Slang Highly appealing or interesting; attractive
Hmm…. I’m sensing a pattern. We’re getting a little closer, but not quite what I’m looking for.
It took 6 definitions to find one I feel is the most true, and I found it in the Urban Dictionary. It’s the #6 definition and says
“Its not a word , its an attitude.”
BAM!
Now, maybe this is where men and women differ. See, I think MOST men (okay, maybe not all men) would agree that playboy models are sexy. And bikini models. And big boobs. Victoria’s Secret and Carl’s Jr. ads count on that.
Sexy?

Sexy?

Photo of Victoria’s Secret model.
And I’ll admit – I sure as heck can appreciate a pretty face and body on a man.
But there are some people I find incredibly sexy for their minds, their art, and their talent.
Danny Elfman

Danny Elfman

I love his music – it evokes such feelings in me when I listen to it. I have Spiderman2, Edward Scissorhands, MIB, and The Corpse Bride themes on heavy rotation on my iphone, and still love listening to Oingo Boingo music that brings back memories of my youth.

Another one for the sexy files?
Steve Martin

Steve Martin

There is just something about Steve Martin that I’ve always loved. From SNL to Three Amigos to L.A. Story, to Parenthood to Grand Canyon to Father of the Bride to his play Picasso at the Lapin Agile. 

I simply love him. He’s brilliant, funny, and I always feel happier after I’ve seen him.

Now, here’s a guy who might be considered more “traditionally” sexy, who knows?

This guy is hilarious

This guy is hilarious

Photo from Late Night with Jimmy Fallon.
I’ve loved him from the first minute I saw him on SNL. He makes me laugh so hard. He just seems like he enjoys every minute of his job, which I just love. What’s sexier than I guy truly happy? What’s sexier than a guy doing what he loves and entertaining the masses? He also seems like just a genuinely nice guy. I’d love to just hang out with him in the backyard.
I know there’s more to this list – and to be fair, I didn’t include women. There are plenty of sexy women out there who aren’t overtly sexual. Like Meryl Streep, who is so incredibly talented I’d watch her read the phone book. Or Michelle Obama – an incredibly confident, well-spoken woman who is helping to change the world, or at least the US. Or J.K. Rowling, who wrote my favorite book series of all time.
I find sexiness in confidence, but not arrogance.
I find sexiness in passionate people – people who believe in a cause and fight for it.
I find sexiness in art.
I find sexiness in kindness.
I find sexiness in talent.
Where do you find sexiness, and WHO is sexy in your mind?
Leave a Reply

