RSS Feed

Take a Hike!

Posted on

We live in such a wonderful place – I sometimes take it for granted that we have so many cool places to walk and hike nearby. And that we have such wonderful weather. Thanks to a friend of mine, I was reminded of it.

Three of us went for a hike. (A “short” hike in the words of my friend. She’s in much better shape than I am.)

The hike is a trail that people hike -and even run- all the time! It starts out in a neighborhood just a few blocks from our kids’ school.

Starting the walk

Starting the walk

IMG_7951

I suppose donkeys went up this trail at some point?

We started at about 8am, right after dropping off the kids at school. It was brisk and we all had our hoodies on, but soon we were gaining height and sunshine, and getting warmer as we made our way up the trail.

Even at the beginning of the trail, the view was gorgeous!

Even at the beginning of the trail, the view was gorgeous!

IMG_7955

I'm not sure what flowers these are, but aren't they pretty?

I’m not sure what flowers these are, but aren’t they pretty?

We stopped at "First Water" which was 1.5 mile from the bottom. (It felt like more! LOL)

We stopped at “First Water” which was 1.5 mile from the bottom. (It felt like more! LOL)

I’m not going to lie – I was tired from the hike. It was only 1.5 miles, but it was uphill. That afternoon, I was WIPED OUT. I wanted to nap. Then the next day my legs were sore. I was excited about this prospect, honestly, because when I’m sore, I feel like I really got some good exercise.

Down at First Water, there was a lovely stream.

Down at First Water, there was a lovely stream.

 

Down at First Water, there was a stream, and a TON of shady trees. In fact, the temperature dropped about 10 degrees, and suddenly we were donning our sweatshirts again.

IMG_7965

Lucky playing in the stream while we got warm again.

Lucky playing in the stream while we got warm again.

Lucky, my friend’s dog, had a ball playing in the water – and then made friends with another dog and played and chased each other. It was a good place to cool off and take a few breaths before heading back down the trail.

Rocky path on the way down.

Rocky path on the way down.

We ran into a celebrity on the trail. I want to keep his privacy, but he was very nice, and very handsome.

View from the trail.

View from the trail.

It was a great hike with good friends, and lovely weather. I can’t wait to go again – and explore more trails in our area, because there are plenty!!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

