RSS Feed

Halloween, You’ve Snuck Up On Me!!

Oh, dear! I can’t believe it’s already time for Halloween! Just 8 more days til Tricks and Treats! Usually I’m so on the ball far ahead of time, but I find that this year, the holiday has just snuck up on me!

I don’t know if it’s because I’m otherwise distracted, between the book, the election, and our home improvement project. Or maybe it’s because as my kids get older, they get more indecisive. Whatever the case, I find myself scrambling for costumes and costume ideas with only days to spare!

Last year, we were planning things far in advance. I was blogging about Halloween in August.

Now, to be fair, I’m not COMPLETELY behind. My littlest girl decided the minute she saw me knitting up one of my designs that she HAD to be Little Red Riding Hood.

So, Here’s the hood I knit.

She’ll be wearing it with this skirt, I found on etsy. Isn’t it the most adorable thing you’ve ever seen?

My middle child has changed her mind a few times. First she wanted to be a “Frankenstein girl” and I was all ready to knit her up a choker with bolts on the side, but we had no other items for the actual costume.

Then we saw “Corpse Bride” the other night and she wants to be her.

Tim Burton’s “Corpse Bride”

There are a few actual costumes that we can buy, but I’m not that crazy about them, so I’m off today in search of something resembling a wedding dress that I can hack into and dye. Plus, I need to find make-up. Bluish lavender makeup, like this, from http://www.loveamandastarr.com :

I’m no makeup artist, but hopefully I can figure out how to do that.

Now, my son… my middle schooler who really doesn’t like dressing up all that much… I had a BRILLIANT idea.

I hope he lets me give him a goatee!!

How cool would it be to be Tony Stark? Not in the Iron Man costume – because really, that’s just a pain in the butt to walk around in – but in a simple tee shirt with his little light-up chest thingy!  Am I right?!?!

After I focus on the kids’ costumes, maybe I can come up with something fun for Wayne and me. Not that we’ve been invited to any parties or anything, but because we love dressing up as much as the girls do! 🙂

I’d still love to dress up as Grace Kelly in “Rear Window”, but I don’t know how I’d feel pushing Wayne around in a wheelchair all night. Or perhaps Tippi Hedron from “The Birds” – I saw this costume. How fun is that?

What are YOU doing for Halloween??

Leave a Reply

