RSS Feed

I Wish I Could Get Away WIth My 8-Year-Old Daughter’s Style

My 8-year-old daughter has her own style. She always has. When she was just 18 months old, she announced to her father and I, “NO PANTS! Just petty desses!” (pretty dresses)

Of course, we had to put her in pants sometimes, so she didn’t always get her way. Sometimes, however, she would compromise and put on a dress over the outfit we’d put on her for the day.

She did let me dress her in cute color coordinated clothes I’d carefully picked out at my favorite children’s store and timed my shopping just right at the sales, or used the “bucks” I’d earned by previously buying enough at other sales. I appreciated her humoring me these times, because they really were cute clothes. But still, she developed her own style along the way.

She’d add a tiara.

Boots and puffy jackets go well with gymnastics outfits.

Hats are always in style, especially when playing mini-golf.

Big black boots always go well with fancy dresses.

She’s given herself new hairstyles. This one she called “big pigs”

Her latest fashion trend is utilizing this “scarf”

I put scarf in quotes, because here’s a photo of it used for its original purpose. (not the best photo of it, but the only one I can find after an extensive search)

Me, on our honeymoon, 15 years, 3 kids and 10 lbs ago.

Do you see it there on my hips? It’s a sarong that came with my bathing suit. The girls have been using it as a dress, skirt, scarf, you name it.

Her latest fashion statement is on her head, sort of half pirate, half Rhoda Morgenstern.

Rhoda!

I love that she can pull off this look. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to run to school not having washed my hair that morning, with bad hair. What I wouldn’t give to just be able to pull off the Gracie.

Or, could I?

My husband suggested that maybe I just could. So, yesterday at the mall, the girls and I tried a few on. Here’s the result.

First one I tried - not my favorite.

Second one I tried. I really liked this one. Probably because it reminded me of Rhoda.

Gracie's favorite. She calls it the "Peacock" scarf.

I’m still not convinced I could pull this look off, but I suppose I can keep my options open. I didn’t buy one, because I just wasn’t convinced.

What say you? Is this a trend that only looks cute on 8 year old girls, icons from 60s tv shows, and girls on Survivor Island?

One response »

  1. Was looking for a picture of Rhoda, and found this. I wish I could pull off that “Rhoda” look, too. I have 3 boys, so no scarves, flowers… Good story!

Leave a Reply

