RSS Feed

Starting Fresh In The New Year!

The ornaments came down yesterday, and the decorations outside the house. The last hint of the holidays are hanging on today – the Rose Parade. Once today is over and the rest of the decorations come down, the kids and I will enjoy the 80 degree weather during their four more days off school, then the weekend, then they’re back to the old routine.

With each New Year, I always try to make Resolutions half-hearted promises to do better. I usually let myself off the hook, with the caviat that I don’t want to “set myself up for failure” by putting “too much pressure” on myself.

Well, that hasn’t worked very well. As I sit in my less than sparkling clean kitchen, not having exercised in well over a week, working on too-little sleep, and falling behind on my own deadlines.

So, here goes. I’m posting them here, to keep myself … what’s the word?… ACCOUNTABLE. Feel free to ask me how I’m doing at any point. I’ll check in periodically as well, just for kicks.

In 2012, I resolve to:

– Get more sleep. Specifically, at least SEVEN hours a night** I’m tired all the time, and I’m tired of looking like a zombie. Vampires are sexy, zombies are not – they’re just scary and creepy and nobody wants to be friends with a zombie.

** unless I’m running too close on a deadline and absolutely must finish working. This will not happen on a regular basis.

– Take better care of my house. My husband has been transferring our old videotapes of baby Sean onto a hard drive, so that we can edit them and put them onto dvds. I’ve been honestly impressed at how clean our old house was back then. Granted, I kept everything off the floor when I had a crawling baby, because he tended to put things in his mouth, and we needed to keep things safe. Also, I only had one child, I wasn’t working on any books, volunteering in any classes, and only had to pick up after one wee baby, and our house was half the size,but still… somehow I did a pretty good job. This gives me hope that if I just gave myself a certain amount of time every day, perhaps there’s a chance my house would start looking better. I’m sure that it won’t be as clean as it was, or as clean as some of the houses of friends of mine, but I’m going to really give it a much better try. My husband seems surprised every day that the house isn’t sparkling and there’s not a gourmet meal on the table every night, so we’ll see.

The girls' room in its current state.

– There will be a new book. Whether or not it’s published by the end of the year is not entirely up to me, but I’m working on it’s inception now, and I’m going to see it through.

– I will make exercise a priority once again. I’m not getting any younger, and I need to take care of this body and keep up with the kids and feel GOOD. Also, I want to look good. I’m not above being vain. I know it. It’s the Lester Burnam in me. I’m okay with it.

– I will be more present. I will be more present in my children’s lives, in my marriage, in my friends’ lives. I will spend less time on the computer, on facebook, and sending emails and start seeing people in person and making – gulp- phone calls. Somehow this whole age of the internet has allowed me to become more introverted, which I do not like. I’m an extrovert by nature, and somehow I’ve allowed myself to hide behind my screen and use my computer to make most of my human contact. It’s not good enough, and it’s got to change.

I may come up with a few more here along the way. For now, this is a good start.

*********************************************************************

Do you make resolutions? Do you follow through with them, or are they usually disappointing? Do you have any success stories or helpful advice? I’d love to hear it!!

Happy New Year, everyone! Let’s make it a great year!!

Leave a Reply

