RSS Feed

FUNdraising!

So, last year, I was offered to take the position of “Fall Fundraiser Chairperson” for our elementary school. I suppose there was something about me that  gave our president and former president faith in me-that perhaps I exuded some sort of efficiency or competency… either that, or they couldn’t find anyone else who wanted the job (which I think is more accurate).

Does this face scream "Competence" to you?

So, over the summer, I spoke with some companies, met a rep, went to a presentation, met with the current and former PTA presidents, and set up the fundraiser. I spoke to the PTA, sent emails to the teachers, explaining the program, and wrote up an addendum to the brochure that explains why we aren’t using part of the prize program (long story).

Monday, I spent the morning with 12 lovely ladies who helped copy, sort, organize, staple, bundle, and deliver the packets to the elementary classes. Tuesday morning, the lovely lady who volunteered to be my liaison at the middle school came and helped me finish the job and took the 370 packets up to the middle school. All that was left was for the packets to go out Wednesday and the money to ROLL IN!!!

Right?

Isn’t that how it works?

I mean, all these parents are going to be so excited to go shopping for things to give at Christmas. They will all understand how important this fundraiser is to our school and their children. They won’t have any confusion about the prizes, because they’ll spend time reading all the literature that comes with the packets.

Right?

*sigh*

In a perfect world, that’s how it would happen. In the real world, I’ll get emails asking what on earth is going on. I’ll get complaints about how unclear everything is. I’ll get complaints about how the school is always asking for money. I’ll get complaints that this stuff isn’t that nice anyway, or they don’t need anymore magazines or chocolates. I’ll explain that they can make a straight donation instead, but they’ll tell me they donated to the Annual Fund, which of course is totally different.

I’m just as guilty as the next person of not wanting to buy one more thing. I’m not that excited about asking friends and family to buy stuff they don’t need so that our school can get some money. I know what it’s like to not be overly excited when you see the packet signaling that it’s that time of year again.

I also understand that as a teacher, you may not want to spend the next two weeks cheerleading your students to sell sell sell. I understand that it’s just ONE more thing for you to do. I get that it’s a pain in the butt to pass out and collect the envelopes. I have been there. As a teacher and a mom who gets THREE of everything, I GET IT.

But, please, teachers and parents, try to be positive. Try not to groan. Try to remember that these fundraisers raise money for things that we do in the classroom- for supplies, for programs, for things that will benefit your time in the classroom and your child’s time at school. We’re a team, guys – LET’s DO THIS!!!

For anyone who doesn’t go to our amazing school who’d like to check out the catalog and see what it is that we’re selling, HERE’S the link.*****

Yay for fundraisers and yay for helping our school! Yay for getting teachers materials they need and yay for paying for great programs for our kids!!

Fundraising may not be fun, but what it pays for sure can be!

 

*****If you’d like to order from me, please let me know and I’ll get in touch with you! 🙂

One response »

  1. Did I tell you I’m the Fund raising Chair this year for my kids’ elementary school?

    Yeeeah.

Leave a Reply

