RSS Feed

Zooooooooomba!

I’ve been wanting to try Zumba for a long time now. The first time I went, I had the times mixed up, so I missed it. Then I didn’t feel good. Then my husband heard me wrong and didn’t get back from the gym in time. Then, I had the wrong day.

Finally, I tried again last night.

Just in case you don’t know what Zumba is, here’s a video of a class. (It’s not my class, and it’s not where I take my class, but I’m 95% positive that the the teacher in white is the teacher I had last night.)

I got dinner made, the husband was home, and I had the schedule right. The Zumba gods would not fail me today!!

I get there and I can’t even get into the parking lot, because the line of cars is insane. So, I drive around the block TWICE and I’m starting to think the Zumba gods have it in for me.

I try one last time, and had to park on the roof level, but at least it’s better than nothing. I notice a lot of people, mostly women, heading in and figure this will be one full class.

In I go, drop my purse off in the locker room, and head upstairs. I get up to the second floor, and everyone’s waiting in line for the last class to get out so we can go in. The line snakes around the whole floor almost.

I ask some of the women about it and they say somehow everyone always squeezes in that room, so not to worry. I make a point to tell them that I’ve never done it before and they assure me it’s easy and fun, and I will return for more.

So the door opens, and we head in, and every single guy exercising in that area stops and watches us go in. I felt like we were potential bachelorettes parading by men lookin’ fer wives.

The teacher is a little firecracker, and puts the music up REALLY loud and immediately starts dancing. Everyone in the room but yours truly seems to know all the steps. This could be really intimidating, but I start following along and do pretty well. I end up at the back of the class, so sometimes I have a hard time if I can’t see what she’s doing, but I try to follow the other people if I can’t see her, and overall, I keep up pretty well. And I never bump into anyone, despite us being crammed in there.

What a great workout!

I’m sore this morning, mostly in my ribs and shoulders. I burned 529 calories and was hot and sweaty afterwards. I assume that if I keep going, I’ll get much more comfortable at it.

Do you Zumba? Do you do another exercise class you can recommend?

 

2 responses »

  1. I love Zumba! I danced a million years ago as a teen, so it’s the one form of exercise I really love! My teacher happens to be a neighbor, and he makes it so positive and so much fun. My next class doesn’t start till Sept 6, but my neighbor (Zumba Joe) is hosting a block party/Zumba party tonight, and I can’t wait. Glad you found it fun!

  2. Hated it. I am a big yogi so maybe I’m just so used to holding still for so long that I can’t get into the groove. I’m really good at yoga…graceful, long and lean. I look like a giant goof in Zumba so I would have to guess that’s why I hate it. I tried two classes but have given up. I’m sticking to yoga, weights, & my own cardio. I agree with you, it is a great workout!

Leave a Reply

