RSS Feed

Fashion and Motherhood – what they don’t tell you

I am by no means a fashionista. Or a Diva. I often feel as if I’m somehow very underdressed for the school my kids attend. Often, moms will be wearing cute dresses, stylish jeans and boots, chic scarves. long skirts, darling sweaters, and I’m wearing jeans.

Of course, jeans isn’t what I wear EVERY day, and I’m not the only mom who wears them, but suffice it to say, no one would be putting me in a fashion magazine as a “do”… I might not necessarily be a “don’t” – but I know I’m not a “do” either. And I’m fine with that. I am a mom, after all. I don’t leave the house to go to a job in the professional world. (If I did, I’d have a different wardrobe for sure.)

When I became pregnant, I had to buy maternity clothes. I knew that would happen. What I didn’t realize was that I’d need in between clothes – when I was too small for maternity clothes, but too big for my regular clothes. Similarly, after my son was born, my body didn’t magically shrink back down to my pre-pregnancy size. Any mom can back me up here – wearing maternity clothes when YOU’RE NOT PREGNANT kind of sucks.

Also, for MOST women (there are a few I’ve known over the years who fit into their regular clothes mere weeks after the baby was born – I wasn’t blessed with these magical genes) it takes quite awhile to be able to wear anything you owned before getting pregnant, so you have to buy a few items to get you by. And if you have to dress up for, say, a wedding, you will find yourself at the mall.

I don’t know about most other women (moms or not), but I REALLY don’t enjoy shopping for special occasion dresses. Especially weddings. I never know exactly how dressy an occasion it’s going to be, and trying on dress after dress in those 3-way-mirrors can be downright horrifying. (This of course is a little less horrifying than buying a bathing suit, but we won’t go there today.)

After my son was born, when he was about a year old, I found myself going to two weddings in one weekend. My cousin was getting married on Saturday, and a good friend of mine was getting married on Sunday. There wouldn’t be anyone besides my husband and I at both weddings. This was a helpful bit of information. I suppose I could have just bought one dress and worn it both days, however having said one-year-old, I knew better than to assume I could keep that one dress clean enough to wear again the next day.

So, I headed out shopping. After trying several stores, I went to Nordstrom Rack. I really didn’t want to spend a ton of money on two dresses I might not ever wear again, and tried to pick a style that maybe I could wear again.

I ended up doing something I’ve never done before, but I’m sure celebrities do all the time.

I bought the same dress in two colors.

Wedding #1

Wedding #2

(ps – how Sean survived 2 weddings in a row is beyond me. He was a little trooper, and I was glad we were able to bring him to both gatherings.)

These days, I’d probably never do that again. The first reason being I’d be posting the photos on facebook or the blog, and I’d feel a bit silly having the same dress. Secondly, it’s clear to me looking back on these photos that the blue dress was far more flattering to my skin tone than the pink one. I’d have done better to just wash the blue one that night and wear it again. Lessons learned.

I do admit I felt a little fancy that day, buying 2 of the same dresses. I imagine celebrities and wealthy people doing things like that. “I’ll have one in every color!”

***What do you do when you’ve got two fancy occasions back-to-back? Do you buy new clothes, or wear something old with a new twist (like a new accessory or new shoes)? ***

 

 

Leave a Reply

