RSS Feed

Better Than Nothing

Posted on

I wonder where that phrase came from. “Better than nothing.” Do you suppose it was someone who really really wanted something badly, but came home with a consolation prize? Do you suppose it was someone who wanted a goodnight kiss and only got a hug? Or maybe it was someone who was in a contest and came home a runner-up. Perhaps it was someone who went to a show and had the time wrong, so they only saw the last 5 minutes. Or a guy who asked a girl for her phone number, but she gave him this:

 

I went to the gym this morning at 6:15am. I did 20 minutes on one machine and decided I wanted to give the stair machines a go. It was tough. I didn’t know how to use the machine – it didn’t have a clear cut easy way to program a workout like the ellipticals I’m used to. I’m sure I looked like a fool trying to get it going fast enough. (Thank goodness the machines are in the very back of the room.) After about 7 or 8 minutes I decided I couldn’t do anymore, so I hopped down and went upstairs to do a few of the machines.

The gym wasn’t crowded, but the specific machines I wanted to use were occupied, and since I needed to get home so my husband could get to work, I didn’t get in quite the workout I’d hoped for. But, I did some, I told him when I got back, “and that’s better than nothing.”

Is it?

I suppose it depends on what we’re talking about.

Some exercise IS better than nothing, sure.

Some cake IS better than nothing.

A GOOD 5 minute conversation with someone you love and/or miss IS better than nothing.

Going to a sale and buying one thing is better than finding nothing.

A tiny sip of a really good wine IS better than nothing.

Losing 5 lbs (instead of 10) IS better than nothing.

Going to a movie theater and paying for a movie that ends up being horrible is NOT better than nothing.

Getting a bad gift from someone that you couldn’t possibly use is NOT better than nothing.

Going on a hike and getting poison ivy is NOT better than nothing.

Having your significant other break up with you on your anniversary is NOT better than nothing.

So, I suppose it depends on what it is you’re talking about.

*************

Do you use that phrase? Do you think something is always (or usually better than nothing)? Give me an example of something that is definitely NOT better than nothing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

