RSS Feed

The Olden Days

Posted on

This morning, I gave my 5-year-old daughter my iphone to play with while we were waiting for something. As she deftly moved her fingers across the touch screen, she asked, “Did you do this when you were a kid… you know… in the olden days?”

Photo from Wikimedia Commons

The what?

Did she just say “Olden Days?” I took just a moment to recover from my shock and insult to form my answer. “No, we didn’t have anything like this when I was a kid, honey.”

I am beginning to realize, as I hear songs from MY generation on the “classic rock” station – and play certain music from my youth (or tv shows from my youth) for the kids – that I’ve reached that stage in life where my kids think I come from a long time ago in a galaxy far away.

The funny part is, my parents were 22 and 23 when they had me, so when I was listening to their stuff from the 50s and 60s  that were “SO OLD” to me, the generation gap, so to speak, was actually quite a bit smaller than the gap between me and my own children. After all, I was 31 when I had my oldest.

I also realize, however, that the tv shows that I’m sharing with them “from my youth” are actually not that accurate a portrayal of my childhood for them. After all, The Brady Bunch and The Partridge Family were before my time. Little did I realize at the time that I was watching them in re-runs myself. (I’ve also been showing them I Love Lucy which of course was before just about everyone’s time.)

I guess that no matter what the age gap between parents and children, the parents are always going to seem “old” to the kids. That the time when the parents grew up was “the olden days” to the kids.

I guess that’s what Keith Partridge meant when he referenced the “Generation Gap.”

 

So, tell me, when did you realize your childhood was “the olden days” or if you’re not there yet… what constitutes the “olden days” for YOU?

2 responses »

  1. Well, I know there is a gen-gap between my kids and I. I was discussing with my teen girls about how life was before we all had internet. How we had to actually CALL someone and go over to hang out. Nowadays its facebook, cellphones and skyping, etc. Also, try explaining what a cassette tape is to a CD/you tube generation.

    Another funny thing…my teen was telling my how she had 2,000 facebook friends. I have to say, that those aren’t “real friends.” I had to explain that I had three close friends in high school. I must seem so unpopular to her. Does anyone have close friends anymore? OIY!

  2. Oh, yes, I know my kids think I’m from the stone ages. They are blown away by the fact that I experienced The Smurfs in the first round. 🙂 Sweet Cameron told me a couple of months ago that I’m Old. Then he added “ish” to cover his bum. But they still find me to be cool and somewhat with it, so I’ll take being oldish.

Leave a Reply

