RSS Feed

Independence Day

Posted on

This year, we celebrated Independence Day out of state. We’re in a small town called Ashland, Oregon. Home of the Shakespeare Festival. I’ve been coming here since I was 14 or 15, and it’s a familiar, inviting place to me. Luckily, my husband likes it, too.

We started the day by walking into town and having breakfast at a local bakery. We watched a bit of the parade, and then headed into the park for the food & arts & crafts fair. To say that my son was less than enthusiastic about the parade would be the understatement of the year.

On this Independence Day, I’m reminded that we are extremely lucky to live where we do. I’m reminded of how different our life might be had we been born in another country with less freedoms. And while sometimes I think that people can take those freedoms for granted, or even too far, I guess that’s the whole point – that we can, because we do have a choice.

Here are a few photos to capture the day we had around the town.

Happy Independence Day!!

Leave a Reply

