RSS Feed

Procrastination

Posted on

Remember that ketchup commercial in the 70s and 80s that used the song “Anticipation” by Carly Simon as it’s pitch? Every time I read the word Procrastination, I hear it in that same tune. (For those of you too young to recall this commercial, here you go:)

(I have to say, in looking at this commercial, who pours ketchup ON their fries as opposed to dipping the fries? And also – how old is this guy? He looks 25, but he’s still living with his mom?)

I digress.

I’m an EXCELLENT procrastinator. Don’t get me wrong, when I have deadlines to meet, I meet them. I work my butt off to get done what I need to get done. However, I have such a hard time starting some things. Like, clearing off the table in the dining room, which has become a catch-all for mail, projects, and kids’ finished work. I am excellent at procrastination when it comes to packing for a trip – I usually save it til the last minute (usually because I’ve put off doing all the necessary laundry… do you see a pattern?).

I suppose I should make a mid-year (mid-life?) resolution to just stop the procrastination once and for all.

Maybe tomorrow.

***************

Do you procrastinate? If so, do you do everything, or just specific things?

2 responses »

  1. I am the same way. If I have a deadline, I meet it. I work better under pressure. If it is normal stuff like laundry, grocery store, etc…I will procrastinate. I do work better with a to-di list. I make lists almost daily, just to get stuff done. Otherwise I would feel overwhelmed…and well, you know? šŸ™‚

  2. What a great commercial! Every time I hear that song I think about ketchup – sad. Remember figurine bars? “It’s the diet lunch that you can crunch out looouuuud”.

    I am also a horrible procrastinator, but I figure that just means I’d rather be doing something else.

Leave a Reply

