RSS Feed

My Kids Made Me A Geek

Posted on

When I was a kid, I saw Star Wars in the theaters, just like everyone else my age. I wanted to be Princess Leia – I won’t lie. I even started to write a parody called “The Umpire Strikes Back.” But I wasn’t a geek. I couldn’t tell you that Luke was Red 5 in the Battle of Yavin. In fact, if you asked me what the Battle of Yavin was, I wouldn’t know what you were talking about. My husband was a different story.

He made his very own Jedi robe.

When the movies came back in the theater, I watched the first 2 (well, technically Episodes 4 & 5) with my then fiancee (now husband), but didn’t see the 6th. I got pretty sleepy watching them in the theaters, because mostly we went after I’d had a full day of work. So, when Episode I came out, I had NO idea the SPOILER ALERT old guy was the Emperor. In fact, if you asked me who the Emperor was, I’d most likely say, “There was an Emperor in Star Wars?”

But, I had a little boy.

And when he turned 5, he got a starship from his Uncle Pat for his birthday. Since he had no idea what it was, my husband and I decided to let him watch Star Wars. (I will spare you from the argument my husband and I got into over which one to show first and in what order.) My son fell in love. Jedis and starfighters and stormtroopers and lightsabers and galactic fanfare became his life. And mine. I’m the kind of mom who tends to get sucked into what my kids like. It’s hard not to, when we watch the movies over and over and over again. Even my 18 month old loved Star Wars. She picked out her very own Star Wars shirt and wouldn’t let me leave the store without it on her person.

My little one and her first SW shirt.

Pretty soon, I could tell you which Jedi was the only one with a purple lightsaber. I could tell you the difference between the Battle of Geonosis and the Battle of Endor. I could tell you which character was from Mon Calamari (Admiral Akbar, by the way). I knew the difference between the Sarlacc and the Rancor.

Today was sort of the ultimate in, “Holy cow, how did I get here?” moment, when my husband was talking about Star Wars and he couldn’t remember what Anakin’s stepfather’s name was. (Yes, Anakin had a stepfather. His slave mom was… oh, look it up!) I pulled Cleig Lars out of NOWHERE, and there you are. It’s official. I’ve become a Star Wars geek.

Maybe it was watching the movies hundreds of times. Maybe it was going to the Star Wars convention a few years ago. Maybe it was listening to my kids play with the toys, calling them each by name. Maybe it was the Star Wars exhibit at the Science Center we attended a few times when my son was in kindergarten. Maybe I was starting to like all this space stuff.

All set for opening day of "Star Wars, The Clone Wars" - yeah, I don't know what's up with my hair either.

Whatever the case, I am 100% sure that if it weren’t for my son, I would know NONE of this.

So, I accept it. I own it. I’m a Star Wars Geek and I’m proud. (Mostly)

~What are you a geek about?~

3 responses »

  1. Hahahaha! That’s hilarious! I’m totally geek about Harry Potter… read all the books, seen all the movies, midnight showings, themed parties, you name it. I even make wands (yes WANDS) and sell them at the midnight showings. It’s way fun to be geek about something 🙂

  2. Oh, Darci, I’m a Harry Potter geek, too, but I own that completely. LOL

  3. Hi, Genevieve! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciated your comment — I think too many people equate owning your choices and your life with never being able to ask for help. Would you mind if I use your comment in an upcoming blog post? Thanks!

    P.S. I’m a total geek about old stuff. And space.

Leave a Reply

