RSS Feed

Possibilities

Posted on

Today we’re going to a family wedding. Or, as my husband constantly reminds me, a wedding reception. My cousin and his wife eloped last year, due to some unforseen circumstances. Today their family and friends get to celebrate their union officially with them.

The blogger & her husband, on their wedding day.

My family is big. My dad is the oldest of 6 kids. I am the oldest of his 4 kids, and the oldest of 21 grandchildren. So, let’s do some math. 6 kids + 6 spouses + 21 grandkids. That’s 33. Now, several of us grandkids are married. 11, in fact, so add 11 more – that’s 44. Then 5 of us have kids – there are 14 great-grandkids, making it a total of 58 family members. Now, considering that I’m the oldest and the youngest of my cousins is my son’s age (weird, right?), I’d say our family is going to get a lot bigger, and we’ll be to a heck of a lot more weddings.

With each wedding I attend, be it family member or dear friend, I can’t help but be swept up in the romanticism of it and the sheer possibility. They have their whole life ahead of them. They could travel, build a home, build a business, raise a family… opportunities are endless.

Now that I’ve been married for almost 14 years, and have seen several couples I know get divorced, I’m jaded. I know marriage can be hard. It has its ups and downs. It has its stumbling blocks. There will be blood, sweat, and tears. Sometimes, I get so down about other people’s relationships and the state of marriage and happiness these days that it’s downright depressing.

So it’s nice to refresh your ideals by attending a wedding. Who knows where they’ll be in 5, 10, or 15 years from now. What matters is that right now, they’re madly in love and have endless possibilities.

Leave a Reply

