RSS Feed

Trivial Tuesday

Posted on

DISCLAIMER: Today I’m posting something silly. Trivial, even. It’s not meant to make you think, it’s just nonsense. If you watch Dancing With the Stars, you might enjoy it. If not, you might want to start watching. This post may turn you off entirely. That’s the beauty of MY blog – I can make it whatever I want. You as the reader can decide whether or not it’s worth your time.

If you’re looking for a heavy post, a political post, or something other than pure frivolity today, you’re going to need to look somewhere else.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~*******************~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am not much for reality shows. I don’t watch Survivor, the Bachelor, Jersey Shore, or Real Housewives. I don’t even watch American Idol. Not that there’s ANYTHING wrong with any of those. I’m just letting you know that I don’t have a DVR full of lots of reality tv.

That being said, I have a very GUILTY PLEASURE. I watch Dancing With the Stars. Each season, when the new “cast” is announced, there’s always a lot of “Who’s THAT?” “It shouldn’t be called Dancing with the stars – it should be called “Who theHell are These people?”

I’ve done it, too. But you know what? Just because WE aren’t familiar with them doesn’t mean they’re not stars in their own right. Sure, they may be a “reality star” like Kate Gosselin or Mike the Situation, or Kendra Wilkinson from that show where she lives with Hugh Hefner as one of his 3 girlfriends. (Ew) Or it might be someone like Ralph Macchio, whose most famous point came in the 80s. Or even someone on the Disney channel I’ve never seen. ALL of these people have fans of some sort. They have a following. They’ve gotten famous for something. And technically, that works.

Now, in terms of the dancing and competition – it’s just fun!  Over the seasons I’ve learned that I love the Paso Doble, but am not crazy about the Rumba, which is odd, because it was our wedding dance. I love the Samba, but the Fox Trot isn’t my favorite…

I’ve also got my favorite professional dancers. Number one in my book is Derek.

Are you freaking kidding me? He’s a genius choreographer.

And this – amazing!

And Maks. I can’t find any short clips of his, but look him up. Maksim Chmerkovskiy.

Of course, I can’t forget the time I was actually in the audience. It was SO much fun!

If you look really, really, really close, you can see me!

Can you see me? The blonde to the left of Nicole's left polka dot bow.

Again, the blonde hair to the left of Nicole and Derek. My big debut. Haha!

My husband actually watches it with me – probably partly for the beautiful women in skimpy outfits, but he gets into the dancing scores as much as I do. So, it’s my tip for today. Watch. Give it a try. It’s great fun. And on Mondays, it’s followed by this guy, and who can go wrong with this guy?

And now, I collapse, after spending the day with kindergartners on a field trip. Happy Tuesday.

One response »

  1. I would encourage you to watch Survivor. Awesome show about human behavior, group dynamics, and camping. The locations are beautiful, and the photography is stunning. The strategy that is employed is fascinating too.

    IMHO.

Leave a Reply

