RSS Feed

Meet Designer Ashley Fay

In her own words, here’s Ashley Fay, designer of the fabulous project you just got a peek at!

I have been knitting for almost 3 years, I had always wanted to learn how to knit, so, on an impulse, I bought a kit with a book and knitting needles, and I taught myself, and I haven’t put down the needles since. I have known the basics of crochet for a long time, so that helped, and just a week or two after I learned the basics of knitting, I made my first project, a colorwork hat with earflaps for my brother, which came out surprisingly well, considering that in the beginning, I didn’t know anything about needle size or gauge, I just bought needles in my favorite colors.

I started designing when I came across the Ravelry Message board which was the very beginning for ideas and discussions for what became Vampire Knits. The ladies on the board were discussing different things to design, and I thought that was something I could do. I have been modifying patterns since I made that very first colorwork hat, so it was a natural evolution to just designing exactly what I wanted instead of changing patterns all the time. I came up with a few ideas for patterns that would fit the theme and I began working on them. I’m so happy that I happened upon that message board because it has turned into such a joy for me, I love designing patterns, now I have too many ideas in my head and not enough time to design them all!

My first ever design was just a peace sign chart with written instructions to make a scarf with it, I knew nothing about pattern writing at the time. My first real designs are in Vampire Knits. I love seeing the finished projects made with my patterns and I have so much fun designing.

My designs for Vampire Knits are the Sidhe Shrug, Be Still My Beating Heart Capelet, and the Sitio Lace Stockings. I was inspired by the more stylish, modern vampires, and the names are inspired by vampire legends. I imagine young fashionable vampires would like these patterns, while still appreciating the tongue-in-cheek designs, they’re all very dramatic, like vampires seem to be, but the designs are still fresh and cute.

As for my favorite vampires, I simultaneously love and fear vampires, and with all the vampire books and movies, it’s impossible not to have a few favorites. I have seen Interview with the Vampire at least a dozen times, and I have been watching True Blood lately, I also enjoy the Twilight series, and, of course I love the classics Dracula and Nosferatu.

3 responses »

  1. Hey there,

    I’m knitting the capelet, and have just come to the Left Half of the Hood. I’m confused! It makes sense that I would purl the first row, the wrong side, but then I’m supposed to purl the next row, the right side? I’m just wondering whether this is a mis-print, or whether the left half of the hood is supposed to be a reverse stockinette stitch?

    Thanks!

  2. Hm. That’s a good question! I hadn’t caught that. Let me talk to the designer and get right back to you!

  3. It’s a misprint. It’s all in stockinette. Thanks for catching that!

Leave a Reply

