RSS Feed

I think I’ll go for a walk outside

Posted on

the summer sun’s calling my name – I hear it now.  I just can’t stay inside all day.  Gotta get out, get me some of those raaaaays.”              ~The Brady Bunch

It was a nice day today, and the husband wanted to go for a hike.  I have to say, I woke up on the wrong side of the bed and did NOT feel like hiking, but we all went out and ended up having a great time.

We drove for about 10 minutes, and just outside JPL, we found a little trail.  It was easy to forget we were near a city – so close to civilization.

Have walking stick, will travel.

Found the trail and are on the go!

We walked  by stables and got to see some horses jump, which was pretty exciting for some girls who like horses.

And came upon some water.  (Photo by Sean)

The body of water was pretty big, actually.  Wayne started joking around about “the boy who lives in the water.”  And then we saw him.

I felt like we’d come across a real live Huck Finn.  He was telling us all about the lizards, gophers, and snakes he brings home.  He makes traps and catches them, much to his mother’s dismay.  He was enjoying the heck out of his Sunday for sure.

We forewent a dip in the pond, but saw some remote control airplanes, frisbee golfers, and even this guy.

A quick stop for a snack and we were on our way again.

And I was reminded to let go of my bad moods and give in to some adventure now and then.

One response »

  1. Pingback: It’s an L.A. thing | Genevieve, Unraveled

Leave a Reply

