RSS Feed

Rite of Passage

Posted on

For the last 6 years, we’ve been at preschool.  First Sean was there for 2 years, then Grace, then Maddie.  We just finished up Maddie’s final year and are moving forward.

It’s bittersweet.

On one hand, I’m so proud of her – of how grown up she has gotten.  She’s kind of an old soul sometimes.  I don’t know if she shows that at school, but she sure does at home.  And sometimes she just seems older than she really is, which is in direct juxtaposition to her small size.

I have watched her grow and change and learn so much, and I have no doubts that she’ll do great in kindergarten.  I’m happy that she’s thriving.  I’m happy she’s had such a great year at school full of friends – old and new – and that she’s loved to go to school each and every day.  We couldn’t have asked for a better last year for her.

On the other hand, she is growing up.  (yeah, I already said that on the other side of the coin, I know) She’s no longer a little baby.  No longer a toddler.  No longer a preschooler.  She’s moved through those stages with ease and now she’s a kid, ready for bigger adventures, bigger friends, and a much bigger school.  I cried yesterday realizing that all 3 of my babies are growing up, but this one stings especially.  When Sean and Gracie were getting bigger it was okay to a degree, because as long as Maddie was little, they all seemed smaller.  Now, they’re all just moving forward, growing, changing, blossoming into the people that they will become.  It excites me and terrifies me all at once.

We’re also leaving the school we’ve been at the longest.  6 years of preschool is now over.  6 years of a pretty tight community – one where I knew each and every teacher and aide had my kids’ best interest at heart.  They all knew her name, and who her friends were, and cared for her.  I’m leaving friends behind as she is.  I felt a bit like leaving high school for the last time yesterday.

I know I’m being a bit dramatic.  If you know me at all, you know that’s just how I roll.

Thanks HRNS for a great 6 years!

SME, we’re all yours!

Leave a Reply

