RSS Feed

Little Things

Posted on

The other day, the kids and I were clearing off the table in the dining room so that we could play a game together.  The table had become cluttered with papers and mail and junk, so it was a good motivator.

In amongst the piles of papers, we found Gracie’s May/June journal from kindergarten and read through it start to finish.  She used lots of inventive spelling, so some of it was hard to decipher.  The kids were laughing so hard, I thought they were going to fall over.  Gracie, especially.  Instead of being self-conscious or embarrassed, she thought seeing her old writing was hilarious.

I thoroughly enjoyed flipping through those pages, remembering what was important to her during those months.  I wish I could keep all of that old stuff – journals, writing, pictures, art projects… but the fact is, I can’t.  So, I decided to take some pictures of the kids’ pictures to remember them.  This may be a recurring theme here at the blog.  We’ll see.

Up today are family drawings.  These are drawings of our family that the kids did when they were all around the same age.  I was inspired by my friend Mel, who posted a picture of her own kid’s drawing, and it reminded me of how different my kids’ drawings were despite being the same age.

Here is Sean’s rendering of “family” at the age of 5.  One day after his 5th birthday, actually.  His touch is much lighter than the girls, partly because he held his pencil “like a paintbrush” as his kindergarten teacher put it.  (This was a great bone of contention when he got to 1st grade, as the kinder teacher didn’t find it necessary to retrain him to hold a pencil the correct way.)

It’s a bit hard to see, but there’s Mommy on the left, holding “baby” (Maddie was 2 months old.) and Daddy is the tall guy on the right. Sean’s in between Mom & Dad, and Gracie (labeled as “sister”) is on the other side of Mommy.

Next up is Gracie.  Gracie’s pictures have always fascinated me, as well as her teachers and even other moms in the class.  There was one mom in particular who would make a point to tell me she could tell a Gracie picture a mile away because it was so stylized.  As you can see:

The date on this is simply “08”…  I’m assuming it’s sometime between January and May of 08, but I can’t be sure.  She’s on the older side of her 4s, almost 5 in any case.  Things to note:  she’s bigger than everyone else, and you can see everyone’s legs underneath their dresses and pants.  I always thought that was so funny.

Last up is Maddie.  She did this a few months ago – probably right after she turned 4.  She always goes with me to work in Gracie’s class, and takes that as an opportunity to practice her drawing.  She’s spent a lot of time sitting next to her brother and sister and getting ideas from them, I think.

Left to right are Daddy, Sean, Gracie, Maddie, Mommy.  I’m a little perplexed at what happened to Daddy’s body, and why I’m the biggest one in the picture, however I’m pretty impressed that everyone has the right eye color.

I need to do something with these, so that when they’re out of the house I can look back at these and remember what they were like when they were wee.  Recently, my my found things that she drew when she was in elementary school and it was highly enjoyable to get a peek at what my mom was like when she was a kid!

Leave a Reply

