RSS Feed

I wish I might

Last year for my birthday, I got a very unique gift from my brother and sister-in-law.  They are pretty great at getting unique gifts, and this was no exception.  It was a necklace, but instead of a chain, it was on gold thread. (The one with the wings on it.)

The card that came with it said to make a wish and wear it until the thread breaks, when the wish will come true.

My first thought was to wish my grandma got better.  I got pretty depressed thinking about it, because I know that’s not how it works.  She had an incurable disease for someone her age, and she was going to die, probably soon.  I knew that prayer wouldn’t  even keep her here.  That’s not how God works.

Truth be told, I rarely think wishing is going to work, either, but that doesn’t stop me from gathering coins from the bottom of my purse and making wishes with the kids while we throw the coins into every fountain we pass.

But, I just didn’t know what I’d wish for, so I put it away in my drawer, waiting for a wish to come to mind.

My birthday is in November.  I didn’t think of a wish until June.  And when I’d thought of it, I still didn’t wear my necklace until after the deaths of my grandparents, within 4 days of each other.  I superstitiously thought that somehow my wish would get mixed up and I would inadvertantly wish for both of them to miraculously heal, despite knowing the end was here.  I know, that sounds both selfish and morbid and also just plain stupid, but that’s how my odd little mind works.

So, in June, after I’d signed the contract with my agent and knew the book proposal was coming together, I made a wish that my book would get published.  I remained with the superstition of not telling anyone for fear that the wish wouldn’t come true.  (I realize that I sound like I’m 5 years old.)  Well, that was 7 months ago.  I wore it almost every day and didn’t take it off except when I needed to wear other jewelry to 2 weddings I attended.

The kids wondered when it would break.  They “just knew” the wish would come true as soon as it broke.  They were getting impatient, but I wasn’t, because the wish hadn’t come true yet.

Well, last weekend, when I got out of the shower, I noticed that the thread which held the charm looked all gunky.  Like maybe soap or shampoo residue had gotten built up on it, so I scratched it a bit with my fingernail.  Well, it came loose.  I started to feel panicked, because nothing was ready… the wish hadn’t come true, and I wouldn’t know exactly when it would come true, if it did.  I know this isn’t at all rational, but it seemed so in my head.  Ha!

Later that day, the charm fell to the floor.  The kids were so excited because they figured that my wish must have come true.  I knew better.  I knew it was my fault I broke it.  I was sure I jinxed myself somehow and the publishers would say, “You know what, let’s forget it!”

However, yesterday someone pointed out to me this link.

So, maybe it did come true.  Or, it will anyway, in 9 months.

I kind of wish I had something new to wish for to occupy my mind for those 9 months.

7 responses »

  1. That is soo cool, Gen! I love Dogeared stuff. I give it as gifts a lot, too!!

  2. Melanie Harrison

    Oh Gen, that is just fantastic beyond words! I’m so happy for you! Very cool about the necklace!

  3. Melanie Harrison

    Oh, and I preordered! ❤

  4. So wonderful and impressive about the book. Congratulations!! Well earned.

  5. Nine months? Think of it as giving birth. In nine months you will realize the creation of something wonderful. I’m so proud of you!

  6. Hey Gen! I am so proud of you! I know you have been talking about this but had no idea what you were really talking about! You are fomous, girl! I can’t wait to see it!

  7. This is awesome!!! Never stop believing in dreams and wishes, even if you sound like you’re 5. Being 5 Rocks!!! I’m so excited that the book is going to be coming out!!!! It’s on my wish list for Christmas. You all should be incredibly proud!!!!

Leave a Reply

