RSS Feed

Why are all these people in line?

So, this morning we decided to go get some flu shots.  The Swine Flu shot, H1N1, to be exact.  I’d read that there would be several clinics  in the area that would have it, and the  one that seemed the most convenient was this morning, from 9am-4pm in Monrovia.

So, once everyone was up, we headed out.  We got there at about 8:30am, thinking there might be a little bit of a line.  The husband dropped the kids and I off at the line.  As I was looking around, trying to figure out where the end was, a very annoyed person in line pointed across the street and said, “The end of the line is all the way over there.”  I turned to see where she was pointing.  Holy cow.  Hundreds of people were in this line.  It wrapped all the way around the block.

So, as we trudged over to the end of the line, my son asked me, “Why are all these people in line?”  “For the flu shot,” I said.  He looked at me like I was joking.  “No, really, Mom.  Why are they in line?”  I can’t say I blame him for not believing me.  I couldn’t believe it myself.  I don’t know if you can see all these people in the picture, but the line wrapped around the park.

1025090900b

1025090900c

We waited in line for a total of 3 hours and 30 minutes before being told if we were getting the flu mist we could head to the front.  It was a LONG 3 1/2 hours.  I brought one of my projects along, which helped me pass the time.

1025090948b

1025091036a

The kids took pictures with Mark Twain, and ran races to keep occupied, but after 30 minutes of that, they got very tired.  So tired, in fact, that Mads had a meltdown and decided to just leave.  “I’m going HOME!”  she wailed.  Over and over and over again, she kept crying that she was going home.  I finally took her for a walk to get her mind off being so upset.  It worked…  momentarily anyway.

Not long after our walk, we were told that if we were getting the flu mist (up the nose, rather than a shot in the arm) we could get in a second, much shorter line.  So, we did.  However,  once we got up to the front of the line to check in, they asked a lot of questions about each one of us.  Since Gracie has had pneumonia and wheezing issues, and since I’d had a diagnosis of asthma before, they decided that she and I would get the shot in the arm, and the other 3 would get the mist.  Gracie was VERY unhappy about that, and cried some pretty awful tears, but after getting the shot while sitting on Mama’s lap, she was fine.  She even held my hand while I got my own shot.

Gracie & Mama - bandaid twins

Gracie & Mama - bandaid twins

All in all, it was an all-morning event that left Mom and Dad a little frustrated, but overall we’re glad we did it.  Especially Wayne, who was VERY worried when the first cases of Swine Flu surfaced last year.  The kids (because they’re under age 10) need to get a booster in one month.  Hopefully by then we won’t have to wait 3 hours to get them!

3 responses »

  1. so you were able to actually get swine flu shots?? jeff and i have been chomping at the bit to get ours, and we can’t find any available vaccine in san diego! more importantly, jenn really needs one, and she hasn’t been able to get one either!

  2. Yep! We did. Our local paper listed all the clinics in the area that were offering them. The kids still have to get one more in a month, but we got them.

  3. We were out of town, and I’m not sure we would have waited for 3 plus hours. I hope the line is shorter next week.

Leave a Reply

