RSS Feed

I’m Gorgeous Inside!!

I went walking this morning, and passed a house that was for sale.  Hanging on the for sale sign that bears the realtor’s name, it says “I’m Gorgeous Inside!!”  I looked at the outside of the house, which was rather plain.  I suppose they’re trying to catch buyers’ attention who wouldn’t normally give the house a second look.  “Hey!  Don’t let the outside fool you!  I really am beautiful inside!  Give me a chance!”

I must admit.  I can sympathize with the house.  Sometimes I feel like shouting to people, “But I’m gorgeous INSIDE!”

One of those times was this past weekend.  I’ve managed to gain about 5 lbs on vacation, and certain clothes don’t look as good on me as they used to.  We were going to a wedding rehearsal for some dear friends, and I wanted to be cute and comfortable, so I wore a “flowy” top.  It was actually snug-ish on top (showing lots of cleavage) and then right under the boobs, it flared out a bit.   I wore it with a fitted skirt.  Well, TWO women asked me if I were pregnant.  Actually, they didn’t ask.  They stated it, as if it were known fact.

The first time it happened, I politely smiled and said that no, I wasn’t expecting.  It stung, but I tried not to let it get me too down.  When it happened a second time, however, it was much harder to be so gracious.  My husband kept insisting that it wasn’t me, it was “the shirt.”  It probably was, but it didn’t help.  I still felt terrible.

The icing on the cake was the groom’s father letting me know how youthful my husband looks, and how although I age, he doesn’t.  He actually said that.  I’m sure he didn’t mean to hurt my feelings, but they hurt nonetheless.

I went home that night feeling very down.  I let the comments really get under my skin and make me feel bad, when I should have just shouted, “But I’m gorgeous inside!!”

3 responses »

  1. ok, I so feel you on this one. Nothing fits me right now except my “fat” clothes and early maternity ones. I have been meeting up with “old” friends and attending dance class lately. I have this need to want to tell people that I miscarried and that’s why I have the extra weight. It’s so silly, but I feel like I need to tell people as a way to “justify” those extra pounds. … and hey, “I am gorgeous inside”! 😉 good and honest blog post.

  2. I’m so glad you posted this! You know how I feel. 🙂

  3. Not sure if this story helps, but a while ago, I was walking down the street to my car wearing an empire-waisted dresses that had a belt that tied just under my chest. As I was walking, this homeless man came up to me and said that he had a vision that my baby was going to be a boy.

    So some people are just crazy…or just plain stupid, because I’m pretty darn sure that I don’t and haven’t ever looked pregnant. And yet the same thing has happened to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

