RSS Feed

With a little help from my friends

Posted on

“I get by with a little help from my friends” as Ringo sang 42 years ago. Lennon & McCartney had it right. We all get by with a little help from our friends. I know that has been true for me in the last few months when I’ve had some stressful times.  There were confusing times with literary contractual jargon, rough times with my grandparents’ illnesses and consequent deaths, with horrible headaches, a traveling husband, and just life in general.  I had need of some shoulders to cry on and rocks to lean on, and was reminded that I have some truly wonderful friends, near and far.

I want to take a moment to say thanks to those friends, who hopefully know who they are:

Thanks to you who:

hung out with me & the kids when I needed adult company

listened to and answered my questions, no matter how silly

looked over contracts and gave helpful advice

sent a card just because

chatted with me when I needed it

watched the kids while I had an appointment

sent a sweet email

gave me a hug

called and offered to bring me coffee and chat

offered to take the kids for any reason

called to check up on me

fed me and the kids when I needed company

donated money in my grandparents’ names

gave me kind words, in person, on paper, or on the net

I’m sure there are specifics I’m forgetting.  Know that I appreciate you, friends, and am lucky to have you!

“… no man is useless
while he has a friend.”
– Robert Louis Stevenson

5 responses »

  1. i wish i could have been there physically, to do more, but know that i’ll always be here singing mj’s

    “you are not alone
    i am here with you
    though we’re far apart
    you’re always in my heart…

    i can hear your prayers
    your burdens I will bear …”

    much love to you soon-to-be sis!
    -jm
    xoxo

  2. “Keep smilin’, keep shinin’
    Knowin’ you can always count on me, for sure
    That’s what friends are for
    For good times and bad times
    I’ll be on your side forever more
    That’s what friends are for”

    You are loved because you love GTM 🙂

  3. I know you wouldn’t hesitate to help me if the tables were turned.
    You are my Genevieve, my friend.

  4. Genevieve! What a sweet post. You have had such a time of it these last few months. I only wish I could do more. I didn’t return your last text – sorry! – but I agree, let’s talk soon.

    I agree with the sentiment of your post. It’s so great to have friends … what would we do without them? And you’re a great one yourself, Genevieve, for sure.

    xoxo

  5. I miss you so much. I wish I could be there now with you. You really are the sister I never had. You know, besides the two I have and don’t want. 😉 You’re the one I would have chosen if I could have.

Leave a Reply

