RSS Feed

Good News, Bad News

Posted on

Today was a big day for news.  For me, for my family, and for my state.

The day started with good news for me.  I got a call from a literary agent about the knitting book I’m putting together.  She’s VERY interested, and I had a nice long conversation with her.  I sent her photos of several projects and my written pieces and am waiting to hear back.  I’m hoping she likes what she sees and she thinks she can sell it!  My fingers are crossed!

Then, after I got off the phone, I heard the bad news.  Prop 8 is being upheld in California, and it sickens me.  I can’t believe that people will let fear and hate rule their decisions.  NOBODY SHOULD BE ABLE TO TELL ANYONE WHO THEY CAN AND CAN’T MARRY!!!  I have to figure out what I can do.  This is truly appalling.

Just now, I got off the phone with my mother.  The worst news of the day came during this phone call.  My grandmother’s Leukemia has come back with a vengeance.  The blasts are higher than they’ve ever been, despite the chemo.  They have a doctor’s appointment Thursday, but for now it looks bad.  I don’t know that there’s any more they can do for her.  On top of that, my grandfather is doing worse.  Not eating, mostly sleeping, hardly cognizant of what’s going on around him.  Neither one of them will be on this earth much longer, I fear.  And I think that as soon as one of them dies, the other is sure to follow.

So there it is.  The good news, the bad news, and the worst news.  At least I hope that’s the worst news.  I shudder to think of getting news even worse than that.

2 responses »

  1. Dwayne mentioned to me that the talk with the agent went well. I’m so happy for you and hope that all goes the way you want it to.

    And of course I’m so sad to hear about your grandparents. And to think that they’re both so sick at the same time, what a difficult time for you and your family. I’m so sorry.

  2. Sorry about your grandmother and that her blasts are so high. She’s in my thoughts and prayers as is your grandfather.

    Congrats on the book though, that sounds exciting.

    Agree with you on Prop 8. Can’t understand what all the fuss is about.

Leave a Reply

