RSS Feed

2008 Recap

Well, another year is coming to a close, and I like to look back and remember how things were.

January started off okay. Nothing spectacular. I made resolutions:

—-eating healthier and exercising

—-make more “real” home cooked meals for my kids and for Wayne and I.

—-do a better job at being organized, keeping a better house, and spending more quality time with my kids.

How’d I do? Pretty well. I kept the first 2 for about the first 9 months of the year. Then the kids went back to school, I got involved in politics, and started stress-eating. I’m going to re-start this year!

Everything else I’m still working at – especially the organized part. 😛

January brought Sean’s 7th birthday, Wayne’s 37th birthday, and my grandmother’s awful diagnosis of Leukemia. Happy freaking new year. 😦

February and March weren’t particularly exciting. Nothing of note happened. Sean was playing T-ball, which was fun. Other than that there was a lot of puking.

April brought a wedding – Karen Flentge, a longtime friend, got married in Malibu to Eric Jue. It was beautiful! April also brought a lot of knitting for the annual preschool auction. 4 hats, 2 dolls, and 2 doll dresses. We’ll see what I’ve got the energy for this year!

May brought a new project for the backyard, which resulted in an awesome fort/swingset for the kids (yeah, for the kids). We celebrated Mother’s Day with Mom & Grandma – celebrated that she’s still here with us, despite the doctors predicting otherwise. My brother’s girlfriend also got news that her sister was diagnosed with Hodgkins Lymphoma, the same disease that took my uncle the week after I was born. 😦

June entered with Gracie’s 5th birthday and graduation from preschool. Hard to believe my little Gracie could be old enough for kindergarten, but there it is!

July brought the beginning of potty training for Mads and 5k training for me.

August brought us the Olympics, and another year with my Grandma! 82!! It also brought a new project for me – a book of knitting patterns. Fingers crossed!!

September everyone started school. Amazing. 1 preschooler, 1 kindergartener, 1 2nd grader. I almost cried just knowing that my grandma was still here to hear about their first days.

October – Halloween, my trip to Vegas to canvass for Obama, and the unexpected death of my Grandad. He leaves behind 6 children, 21 grandchildren, and 10 great grandchildren. We miss him.

November – A new president, a new 3 year old, a cancelled 5k, and another Thanksgiving with family.

December – only one sick kid, 2 sick parents, a post-poned Christmas, a terrible economy, and the end of the year.

It’s been an okay year. It’s definitely had it’s share of ups and downs. Let’s hope that this year has more ups than downs. I met some great new friends and connected with some great old friends!  Here’s to more of that!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

