RSS Feed

Going Back to School

So, I’ve gone back to school. No, I’m not getting my Masters degree, or doing anything with my credential. I’m not taking classes at the local CC or an enrichment. I’m going back to 5th grade.

My daughter is back to school from winter break, only she has two broken wrists. So she can’t write with either hand and needs assistance with most tasks. Since I currently don’t have a job outside the home, I am available to help her out. I sit next to her and write for her, basically. She does the work – I write it down.

Now, I used to teach 4th grade. I know what kids are like. I’ve been on field trips with them – including a 3-day field trip to Astrocamp. But I’ve learned a lot these last 3 days.

-Sitting in a classroom at a desk all day is HARD. All I want to do is stretch out and run around.

- It’s SO EASY to get your work done on time if you just sit down and do it.

-So many of the kids in 5th grade would much rather talk and socialize and are really easily distracted. I don’t know how anyone gets anything done (which I realize is the opposite of what I just said).

-They DO need subs. It frustrates me a bit to know I’m not subbing right now. I’ve been in class with two substitutes in the last 2 days and neither one of them did much besides nag and snap at kids.

-When and if I ever get back to the classroom full-time, I will keep all of this in mind.

She has casts on for 2.5 more weeks. We’ll see how it goes. The one good thing (or few, I suppose) is that she can still dance. She participated in her tap class last night just fine, which is hopeful, since she has Musical Theater and most likely a dance elective. Knowing she can still do these activities is really important, since she can’t do a lot of other things she loves, like knit, write, draw, paint, sew, and cook.

My girl, tapping with her casts on.

My girl, tapping with her casts on.

So, for now, I’m going back to school. It’s an adjustment for sure – for me to be back in student mode and for my daughter to have to rely on me. And, I suppose, for the teachers who have to deal with an adult sitting in on all their lessons.

And because I’m fully immersed in Fairy Tales right now, I will refrain from bringing apples to the teachers.

One response »

  1. Raylene Salazar

    You are a great mommy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 393 other followers

