RSS Feed

When Life Gives You Apples (or Doesn’t)

So, as I posted the other day, we headed up to Oak Glen for apple picking today. Our friends, Pat, Lea, and baby Jake came to our house bright and early, and we got ready to head out.

We’d gotten flyers in the mail from some of the farms about what apples are in season, and were so excited to head out for our yearly tradition. We didn’t bother to call ahead – we never had before, why would we start now? So, we piled in two cars and drove the 90 minutes up to the apples.

Only, sadly, there were no apples. We found out that due to a frost this season, the apple crops were affected, and apparently all their ripe apples had been picked last weekend. As well as every other farm up in Oak Glen. This was really disappointing. I’m sure it’s disappointing for them, but to drive 90 minutes with kids in tow for a day of NO apple picking is really not what we had in mind.

But, we came all this way, so what can we do? We can pick raspberries! Let’s go!

Heading up the hill for some berry picking.

Grace was the keeper of the berry basket.

The kids love Pat & Lea – and love Baby Jake!

Picking raspberries is a little more challenging with a baby strapped to your person.

After filling our baskets, we headed across the street to have lunch.

Our entertainment during lunch. The fiddle playin' kid was pretty darn good and about 15 years old. Bonus points if you can spot my reflection.

Jake liked the food, but wasn't sure about the entertainment, so we gave him another option.

He seemed to enjoy the "Grace jumping up and down" show a lot better.

And even though we didn’t get to pick them ourselves, we still walked away with plenty of apples.

And a fresh apple crisp for dessert tonight. YUM!!!

Well, for now we say, “Good-bye Oak Glen! We’ll see you next year… only next time, we’ll call first!”

54 responses »

  1. Looks like so much fun — but the lack of apples makes me sad. We make an annual excursion to Apple Hill, California … I hope there will be apples for us!
    :)

  2. I noticed the other day the price of apples where I live is quite high. Sadly the poor crop weather is yet another cost that will be passed on to us consumers. Great post and photos.

  3. On Saturday my daughter and I went apple picking. There were plenty of apples grown in an ecological way – not totally organic, but he tries as best as he can. They were delicious!! And the price is quite reasonable for this area – $1.10 a pound. Sorry you couldn’t find any. Maybe the memory of finding none will be more important than if you had found plenty as I did. Your story is a good reminder that in growing things, every year is different. You just have to go with the flow.

  4. looks like a great time!

    -grace

  5. seems that it wasn’t disappointing after all you got to pick some berries so at least the trip was a total loss and it looks like you guys had fun :)

  6. Sounds like fun! I love visiting apple orchards and nearby Michigan fruit country but have never been to a U-pick. Instead, I walk around the edges of cornfields looking for berries. Once I got enough to make a small pie, wich I blogged about back in July or August sometime. It was a lot of work though. Picking berries in those neat, mostly weed- and bug-free rows must be worth the drive.

  7. What wonderful photos! love the post

  8. Great pictures and it looks a truly glorious day. Bet everyone slept well that night!

  9. I’d say you had a pretty good day, even sans apples (picking). I can imagine driving the 90 miles to find no apples, but looks like you guys were pretty resourceful. The music sounded (!) great. Baby Jake is so adorable. I’ve been apple picking with my grand kids, and they loved in so much. We have raspberry bushes in our back yard, so no need to travel 90 miles! Ha!

  10. Well sounds like you guys found something new to do. Making the most of the situation I bet!

  11. Nice photos. Looks like you had a splendid time with the family. I hope to do the same one day with a family of my own.

  12. I’ve never tried apple picking. It seems very fun to do :)

  13. While apple picking is definitely big here in upstate New York, raspberries can be (almost) just as fun! Looks like a lovely day.

  14. Nice photos! Hope you enjoyed the apple crisp!
    I see your reflection – just to the left of the banjo players face – nice shot!

  15. Definitely looks like a blast! I’m glad there was something for your to pick up there :)

  16. bummer! but it sounds like you made the best of it. i plan to take my son to the pumpkin patch in the next few weeks, and hopefully there will be plenty of pumpkins to pick from. and maybe some apple cider and a hayride. :)

  17. your post caught my eye because we do have a small apple orchard. Congrat’s on being picked for freshly pressed on wordpress. DM

  18. What a great post for Fall! There’s just something about berry and apple picking that is so much fun! I mean, I didn’t think so when I was a kid, but I do now… :)

    Great post and congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  19. I love apples. I love even more that you got superlove for this post.

  20. We found an Apple Farm in Utah last week.

    We are kicking our selves for not stopping and picking apples. They really looked like they were just right for picking.

    Great Photos.

    Mark
    From http://JointPainRemedyReviews.com

  21. I spotted your reflection! Yaay! Wonderful post! Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed! :)

  22. So how do those cute kids feel about being Freshly Pressed? Glad the day wasn’t a loss, that would have been a major bummer

  23. There should have been a follow up flyer: CANCELLED, there are NO apples

  24. Wonderful pics… living in a city, I really miss small towns and farms. I always visit places like these on holidays, and your pics remind of the hols!

  25. Nice.I like the green life.

  26. Looks like you had fun…and <3 Apples :D

  27. That looks like great fun! I think family traditions are important to hold onto, these days it’s too easy to let work and other aspects of life get in the way. My family tradition is that we all go to Mum & Dad’s to “erect” the Christmas tree and decorate it, they get a real tree every year and we have a party. On Anzac day we all get together and make LOADS of Anzac biscuits and then make ourselves ill eating them! Family is really important to me and obviously to you too, I’m glad you didn’t make the call… look at the adventure you got to have. Thank you for sharing your day with us!

  28. Love the pictures, they’re so sweet! Never been apple picking before–something new on my list, thanks to you! :D

  29. aparnanairphotography

    These are great photos!! I’m in the mood for an apple-cider donut now. Congrats on fp!

  30. nice photos and who doesn’t like apples? Goes great with doughnuts.. Congrats on FP!

  31. Looks like a wonderful time!

  32. God know your Heart not Appearance

  33. I took my kids to Oak Glen for the pumpkin patch. It was a ton of fun and I snapped some great pictures. As I recall they had apples too but not for picking, just for pressing the cider. We did that too, but my finicky kids didn’t like the taste of it. Looks like you had a good time! Congrats on being FP!

  34. I grew up in Redlands and spent many hours every autumn and winter in Oak Glen, whether picking apples, or just hanging out to write at the old school. I haven’t been since winter 2006 and I moved to NC. Thanks for the link to a nice trip down memory lane. Peace

  35. This is so fun and a nice bonding time for families. :)

  36. Aloha, Picking apples, picking raspberries, picking any kind of food thats nice and fresh. Especially thanks for taking the children on a special day out. I wrote a piece “Kinder Farm” a few weeks back just to encourage folks to show their children where the food comes from. Most have no idea. Pumpkins will be ready soon. Oh yea, I discovered you in the window.
    Good work! Dohn.

  37. yum!
    those berries look so tempting.. :)
    nice share..

  38. what a day!
    i like the pics very much and thanks for sharing! :)

  39. i love your idea about what if life doesnt give you an apple, lol. thanks. you made my day.

  40. Looks like an awesome day with a bluegrass cherry on top!

  41. This brings me back… Great post!

  42. Wow nice trip you have and kids looking cute

  43. What happy pictures! What a fun day :)

  44. 1. Laughter increases the speed of manifestation

    2. To Have an Opinion, is to Drive with your Foot on the Brake;
    though you make noise, you go no where fast

    3. Discover the quark in every atom of your life, for the absolute truth, must always be
    revealed beneath the relative truth.

    http://www.DoingYourDreams.com

  45. Pingback: Things and Stuff and Whatnot « Genevieve, Unraveled

  46. Pingback: I Love The Smell of Apples in the Fall (smells like victory) « Genevieve, Unraveled

  47. Pingback: I Love You A Bushel And A Peck (or at least a half a bushel) | Genevieve, Unraveled

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers

